Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I used by KitchenAid Stand Up Mixer and the whole thing took 10 minutes at best to prepare. And, it was delicious! I would recommend turning the oven down just a hair and cooking it for a little longer. I've made this now a couple of times and sometimes the outside seems done, but the inside is doughy. Longer cook time; lower heat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
961 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I didn't rate this recipe as high as "Irresistible Irish Soda bread" simply because there was some kneading involved which was just a bit more difficult than pouring a batter. However, I LOVED this bread recipe. It had a very flaky crust and was so delicious. I will definitely keep this one around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
781 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Yummy! I substituted 1 c. of whole wheat flour for 1 c. of the all-purpose, used butter instead of margarine, AND flattened the ball of dough a bit before baking. It turned out great -- we all loved it and I will be making it often! (Oh, and you probably don't need all that butter and milk to brush on top - a couple of tablespoons would be plenty.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
734 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Great recipe. Takes little time to make and was delicious. I added raisins to a loaf and it went fast. Wish I had added raisins to both loaves that I made. Going to make it again for Easter. My daughter can't wait. Does dry out quickly after slicing but makes great toast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I made this bread today for our St. Patrick's Day celebration. Wow! It is awesome! It's crunchy on the outside and moist and sweet on the inside. It tastes fabulous. Our guests loved it too. I highly recommend it and plan on making it often. Brushing the butter and buttermilk mixture a few times while baking really added a great crust. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
The recipe name says it all - really easy. And really good. 1/2 of the loaf is already gone this evening, and the 2nd loaf is in the oven. Wanted an easy Irish Soda Bread to take into work for St.Patrick's Day, and this was it! It's not dry like some recipes are. I cut the softened margarine in with 2 knives and then a pastry cutter, as this was not explained in directions. I added 1/2 cup of raisins in while kneading the dough. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is the best soda bread I've ever had. Even better than our beloved local Irish pub. I basted it about 5 times during baking, and each time I sprinkled a little sugar on top too! It was moist and just sweet enough. It even tasted better the next day straight out of the refrigerator! ***Update*** I made this again for St. Pat's and decided to add a touch more salt, 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 and I added a touch more buttermilk to get it a little more moist. I baked it at 340 degrees for 50 minutes basting it 3 times and each time I sprinkled sugar all over the top again. It was perfect and everyone raved about it! The crust was crunchy and sugary and the inside was moist and sweet! *Update #2* Use Kerrygold Irish butter in place of the margarine if you can find it, it's fantastic!!! Really puts it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Even though the texture is a little different than true Irish Soda bread the taste is very close. My Irish grandmother won't give up her recipe to her famous soda bread but this will do in the mean time. Very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I recently made this bread for family dinner and everyone loved it. It was simple and quick to put together and tasted great. This will be a bread I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This is a wonderful bread. Very flavourful and easy to make. This is a bread I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States