Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made this to accompany our corned beef and cabbage dinner for St. Patrick's Day. This recipe is "amazingly" easy and very nice. I've never had Irish Soda Bread so have nothing with which to compare. Loved the texture and biscuit like taste. After dinner I had some with butter and honey - yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was delicious! The entire loaf was eaten with dinner tonight. I basted the loaf with the buttermilk/butter mixture about every 10 minutes or so. I followed the ideas from several other reviewers and used brown sugar in place of the white sugar. It went especially well with the homemade raspberry preserves I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The Irishmen at our celebration said it was perfectly authentic except for the green colour the hostess insisted I add to the buttermilk. I weighed out my flour - 4 cups = 500 g but there was still a lot of dry flour left in the bowl. Do not knead it all in or it will make the bread very tough. Next time I'll use a little less flour or a touch more buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joakleyjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was our first time making irish soda bread. We halved the recipe and added chocolate chips to our loaf. We also accidentally cooked it at 400 (oops) for 30 minutes, but luckily it still turned out good...crusty on the outside, soft on the inside. Will definitely make again, but next time will cook at 375 :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Today was my first attempt at making Irish soda bread and I used this recipe. Very easy to follow and the results were great! I may not be the prettiest loaf of bread, but certainly is delicious. Will continue to use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSagisi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Great basic recipe! I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and turned the heat down (to 350) and left the bread in for about 20 minutes longer--a total of 1 hr, 10 minutes--and it's lovely and brown on the outside, but nice and moist and fully baked on the inside. A couple other modifications to be recommended: sub in some whole grain flour (I used 1 c. fresh oat flour, and 1/2 c. fresh whole wheat) and knead in currants if you like them. The butter can be melted and the mixed with the buttermilk-egg mixture to make it easier to add in. Also, if you're short on buttermilk, but have some plain yogurt in the fridge, just mix 1/2 c. yogurt with 1/2 c. milk to substitute for the buttermilk--it works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by looneyonthepath
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Before yesterday I had never had soda bread. Being today is St. Patrick's Day, a local bakery was having a special and my other half said we had to by some for dinner tonight. The loaf didn't make it through the night so I looked up recipes. This one looked good so I decided to try baking my own. I used Bulgarian buttermilk because all others were lowfat. I prefer whole milks. The rest of the recipe was kept the same except for the butter and buttermilk amounts for the final brushing. It seemed too much and I halved it and still had lots left over. My other half said it was better than the bakeries. Did not use the raisins for this loaf, but will for sure on the next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by looneyonthepath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Much better than the other recipes we've made before. Very moist, not dry at all. I basted with the milk/butter every ten minutes. Love it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Slightly sweet with a crisp outer shell and soft, fluffy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Used the recipe, but changed the method. Like this one better than my other recipe because it uses buttermilk and adds an egg and butter for more richness. There are some key steps missing from the instructions as published. Here are my suggestions.... 1. Wisk the dry ingredients thoroughly before CUTTING in COLD BUTTER in place of 1/2 c. margarine. 2. Beat together egg and buttermilk, adding extra buttermilk if needed to bring the dough together. 3. Separate the dough into 2 portions (baking it as one large round browns the outside before it's was baked all the way through). Agree with brushing the loaves as they bake. Other reviews mentioned lowering the oven temp, but I think the higher temp is needed to achieve a good texture. Optional: add caraway seeds or reconstituted raisins or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States