Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and mine did not turn out. This was my first attempt at trying to make Irish Soda Bread. Mine was heavy and dense, not light and fluffy as some described. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommy2L
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I started my mixing in the Kitchen Aide and then kneaded for a while on a floured surface. I added about 1/2 cup raisins by kneading them into the dough. Recipe yielded one fairly large loaf, which I probably could have made into two if necessary. The recipe was very simple and cooked well for 45 minutes at 375. Mildly sweet, traditional tasting loaf -DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Followed recipe except for some high altitude adjustments. It was actually better the second day with no butter. Slightly sweet and moist. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The butter in this recipe gives it the texture and flavor of a giant scone. Delicious! So easy, my 3 year old loved making this with me. Makes wonderful toast the following day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this for the first time this weekend for two St. Patrick Day dinners. I made 3 loaves (one at a time) and they all turned out so delicious. I made one with walnuts and craisins, and two plain. Each type got rave reviews from our neighbors and my family. I did add a bit more buttermilk to the dough as it was a bit dry and was falling apart as I kneaded. This could have been the result of my measurements of flour since my 5 year old was assisting me. I loved the ease of using one bowl! The last one I baked at 350 degrees for a little longer because my oven tends to run hot. It was probably the best out of the three in terms of texture on the outside and in. I just made myself some toast with the leftovers...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I added about a cup of currants to the dry ingredients before adding the wet. For me, that put it over the top delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Easy to make in my kitchen aid mixer and it was a great accompaniment to our St Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe was great. My husband loves this bread, he made it and said it's delicious. I can't speak myself on it bc I don't like irish soda bread. Said the only thing he'd change is to nclude raisins (he added 1cup) and caraway seeds (to your liking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was fantastic for a St. Patty's Day bread! Loved it. I baked mine in a stone pan at 350 for 65 mins and it was perfect. 50 mins wasn't long enough. Also sprinkled some sugar on top for sweetness. I added 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup, too. I let my bread sit for 30 minutes before putting it in the oven to let the baking soda and powder sit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is very easy. My only change was to use butter instead of margarine. The taste was also better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States