Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I halved this recipe (used 1 small egg) to make a small loaf of bread for our St. Patrick's day dinner. I brushed the loaf with the butter/buttlermilk mixture every 15 minutes during the baking time. It baked up beautifully and had a nice flavor. Served this with 'Stout Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Veggies' and 'Irish Tea Cake', both from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was SO easy to make and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe nearly exact, except I added a half cup of golden raisins before turning out and shaping the loaf. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was so good. Not sure how authentic it is as it doesn't taste like any I've tried but I think it tastes better! I used butter instead of margarine and mixed it in the kitchenaid. Tried to knead it but the dough didn't stick together very well and a lot of flour was left in the bottom of the mixer bowl. Stuck it together as best I could and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by umeboshi-chan
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent! Used whole wheat and had to make "buttermilk," but was outstanding nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This bread is tasty but by no means like traditional Irish Soda Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Carney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I had tried making Irish soda bread before, once or twice (I can't remember!) and it didn't turn out well at all. Despite being part Irish, I didn't know exactly what it was supposed to be like, even after an unimpressive purchased loaf. Reading enough of these recipes, though, and seeing the photos, I got a pretty good idea. I made half the recipe and used butter and my KitchenAid. No work at all, beautiful looking, baked perfectly and smells wonderful. I think the KitchenAid helped the overall result, kneading it till it was smooth and somewhat elastic. My oven runs a little hot so I set it for 350°, but it was looking about done after half an hour, so I think cooking it at a lower temp like some people have said sounds wise, though it was perfectly cooked. I think it turned out as good as soda bread could possibly be. I prefer bread to be a little less like biscuits or cake, but it's delicious, fine textured and not too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It is really good! Made this before and have one in the oven as I write this review. I don't put all the sugar that this recipe calls for. I use Kerrygold Irish Butter instead of margarine, plus mine took more buttermilk to make the dough. Great recipe, all in all. Sure am looking forward to our St. Paddy's Day meal this evening!! Thanks for sharing this recipe MP Welty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONIQUILTS2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe — though I used butter instead of margarine and added a cup of raisins with the first addition of buttermilk. Makes a delicious Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I just made this Irish soda bread recipe and it turned out wonderful. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for but I did have to bake it about 5 more minutes to get it done. I think everyone's oven heats differently so you might want to figure out how your oven cooks and then adjust accordingly. this is definitely a recipe I'm going to keep and make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Ultra easy and oh so delish. have made this quite a few times and always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States