Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I have never made Irish soda bread before, but I will be making this one again! Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Had to find a recipe for Irish Soda Bread. Read multiple reviews and decided to go with this one. Followed it JUST AS WRITTEN. When cooking, I "basted" it every 15 minutes which also enabled me to keep track of right amount of time when cooking it. Took just about 40 min in my oven. LOVE not having to knead the bread or letting it take time to rise. Made it for hubby's potluck on St. Patrick's Day and got rave reviews. People wanted the recipe :) As the bread let the house with him that day, it looked and smell sooo good that I had another loaf going in no time at all for the family! It is delicious. On second loaf actually let the dough "set" 30 minutes before putting into the oven to see if it would enable the baking powder/soda to go to work sooner and get more rise - there was absolutely no difference from the loaf that didn't have 30 minutes of sitting time, so SAVE YOURSELF THE TIME and just plop it into the oven. Tastes great fresh and toasted also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Really easy and a great bread to compliment Irish Stew. However, I found it to be a little dry and crrumbly. I'll adjust the flour/liquid ratio when I next make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna-Bat
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I've never made Irish Soda Bread, but this turned out delicious. Made it to go with an Irish stew. Dry, but still moist inside. I love the crunchy exterior. The only thing I didn't do was brush the buttermilk/butter on the outside of the bread, I just did melted butter. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I feel bad for giving this bread a bad review because of all of the good reviews. Maybe I just don't know what Irish soda bread is supposed to be like. If it's supposed to be like a dry, crumbly, biscuit-type bread, then this recipe has hit the mark and I'm just not a fan. This is the second time I've made it, thinking I must have missed something the first time, but it's still as dry and crumbly as ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
All really loved. Make more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Was easy and delicious.. Will make this again with all my Irish meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Photo by al
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
really delicious. I made for a St Patty's day party and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Was wonderful. Used our kitchen-aide stand up mixer - so easy. Cooked it in a greased cast-iron skillet. We did find that we needed a little more buttermilk in order to get the dough to hold together. A keeper. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I needed something for a last-minute St. Patrick's Day get-together, and the host was making stew - soda bread seemed a natural fit. I'd had it in Irish pubs, but never made it myself. This recipe was truly "amazingly easy" - I had the ingredients on hand, didn't change a thing (except to use parchment paper instead of grease on the baking sheet), and it turned out perfectly. The texture and flavor were just as I remembered, and everyone loved it! Tthe entire loaf was gone within 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States