Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a good rustic bread with soups or like items especially. Think I will cut down on the sugar by 1/4 the next time. Really liked the crunchy crust and soda flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was very tasty but it was pretty dry. I kept checking the ingredients to make sure I didn't leave anything out because the dough itself was dry, even before baking. It tasted great, though. I'll have to experiment with the dry/wet ingredient ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
One of my favorite go-to quick breads. My whole family loves this recipe!!!!! To deal with our dietary needs, I simply make buttermilk with lemon juice and plain rice mlk. Also, I use Earth Balance in place of butter and Egg Beaters in place of eggs. Lastly, because we like a crisp crust, I bake it in a large cast iron skillet. What a great addition to our meals!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
The flavor was good, but I think I undercooked it or should have flattened it more because the middle was really doughy. Will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
WARNING there was a suggestion to wrap this bread in foil to cool. NEVER! I enjoy this primarily for the crunchy crust. steaming in foil will produce a soggy crust, on any bread. if you wish to wrap it, use a towel, so steam can escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a pretty good bread. I liked how it was slightly sweet and it had a nice subtle flavor. The crust was very tender, but still a little bit crunchy. However, it was just a little bit dry and crumbly. I started out baking it at 30 minutes, and then I added an extra 10 minutes, for a total of 40 minutes. It's delicious the next day as toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Easy and quick. Heavy winter bread with soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I made a completely daft move when making this and didn't add in the butter at the appropriate time! I ended up messily kneading it in to what should have been the finished product! Regardless of the mess, it was delicious when I finally had it incorporated! I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
DELICIOUS! This was amazingly easy just as its title says. The only thing I changed was that I put lemon juice into regular milk to make "buttermilk." This bread was a big hit at the meeting I made it for. Thank you for a great, easy, and fast bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States