Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Much better than the other recipes we've made before. Very moist, not dry at all. I basted with the milk/butter every ten minutes. Love it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Slightly sweet with a crisp outer shell and soft, fluffy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Used the recipe, but changed the method. Like this one better than my other recipe because it uses buttermilk and adds an egg and butter for more richness. There are some key steps missing from the instructions as published. Here are my suggestions.... 1. Wisk the dry ingredients thoroughly before CUTTING in COLD BUTTER in place of 1/2 c. margarine. 2. Beat together egg and buttermilk, adding extra buttermilk if needed to bring the dough together. 3. Separate the dough into 2 portions (baking it as one large round browns the outside before it's was baked all the way through). Agree with brushing the loaves as they bake. Other reviews mentioned lowering the oven temp, but I think the higher temp is needed to achieve a good texture. Optional: add caraway seeds or reconstituted raisins or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Recipe made up beautifully as written, I added raisins and it was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Made this to go with the Irish Stew I was making for my St Patty's Day party. Was a hit. Everyone loved it. Used my KitchenAid with a dough hook to mix and was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was my first time to make Irish Soda Bread. it was an easy recipe but I suggest you make two loaves from this recipe, not one because it was too large and the middle didn't get cooked thoroughly. Otherwise it was delicious and I added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I didn't know what to expect. It was quick and easy to make. It reminded me more of a scone than bread. I think adding other ingredients like fruites and chocolate might make it taste yummier. My husband says it tastes good dipped in the buttermilk & butter mixture. I'd make this again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A bit confused with this recipe. It shows a picture with raisins/currents but they are not in the recipe. I added mine in with the flour before adding wet ingredients though. It's in the oven now I hope it's delish! Also, no need to melt 1/4 C of butter with a 1/4 C of buttermilk for the topping. You only need about a tablespoon of each. So much leftover it was a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is my first time to make soda bread.. it turned out really good and was so easy to make.I added golden raisons to mine. I will be making it agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Confusing instructions... first it says 45 - 50 min, then says 30 - 50. WTF? I had to add LOTS more flour because it was so gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Dean Houchin

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Powell, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States