Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I'm giving this 3 stars only because I think this turned out the way it should and maybe I'm just not a Irish soda Bread kind of girl. It looked very yummy but that was about it. tasteless/dry yet spongy in the middle. Just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I'd never made any kind of bread before and gave this a try for St.Patrick's. Incredibly eady to make. It is delicious and disappeared very quickly. On the advice of an Irish woman, I added a touch of vanilla. That was my only change. Have been asked by many to share the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was an excellent bread, will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I am one of those people scared of "dough". I followed the instructions and it was fabulous, texture and taste. My husband wants more.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is it for the real Irish goodness, just like Grandmom would pull out of her peat stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Easy and very good. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Like others before me have mentioned - waaaaaay to dry and crumbly (Had to add quite a bit of butter milk and butter just in order to make the dough stay together instead of fall apart.) It amazes me how this recipe turns out "way too runny" for some, and "way too dry" for others. I wonder if there are different kinds of buttermilk or something that might cause the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Never made or even tried soda bread before, so I had no idea what to expect. The end result was like a scone on steroids. More of a biscuit-like texture than bread. Just a hint of sweetness. Not sure if that's the way it's suppose to be, but we kind of liked what we got. I used my Kitchenaid stand mixer with the paddle for the initial mixing, and the dough hook instead of kneading. Easiest bread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have never made bread in my life. Tried this recipe and it was incredibly easy and delicious. Gotta love such a yummy, easy & quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States