Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Id never made soda bread before and ended up making this recipe. I had baked the irresistible recipe and although good too, the difference is the buttermilk. I like how the crust is crusty with the butter and buttermilk spred over the top. And its a lighter loaf. Its so good with the beef irish stew I made.got lots of compliments, and its going to be our staple for St Paddys day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Made this for St. Patricks Day. It was ok but I won't make it again. My dough seemed dry and I didn't think the loaf would ever finish baking. Easy to make, I used my Kitchen Aid Mixer, I was hoping for old fashioned flavor and was disappointed with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Added raisins & took other reviewers advice to bake at 350 for an hour. This is delicious. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have successfully made a lot of breads over the years. But this one did not turn out at all, even though I followed the directions to the letter. First, it was very dry and crumbly, and it refused to stay together. Next, when I finally did get it to form into a dough and started baking it, I found that the outside burned while the inside was raw...and I do mean raw. I even tried to cook it an additional 20 mins when I discovered it was still raw dough in the center, and that didn't work. Sadly, this recipe will never be attempted again. So not easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mald1983

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I had never tried soda bread before, but this recipe is a hit! At first I thought it was going to be just a big biscuit, but it is oh so good. As one reviewer said, one should reduce the oven temp and cook a bit longer. It was a tad doughy in the center, even though the toothpick did come out clean!?!? Also, do be sure to baste the buttermilk/butter mixture several times while baking. Thank you, MP Welty, for this wonderful recipe. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sego

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painted Post, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I really liked this and so did my hubby and kids. I was a little worried when I was kneading it as it was pretty crumbly but went with it. It's like a cross between a sweet bread and a biscuit. I made this to go with my corned beef cooked in Guiness (recipe on this site) for St. Pat's day. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I'm not a good baker-- but this turned out GREAT!! I made it as directed, but I did attempt a mid-bake basting of the leftover butter/ buttermilk mixture; the top of bread got a bit browned, I think because of it. I won't do that again, but it doesn't really matter, because regardless, it was a great tasting bread and would go quite well with any soups/ stews. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious, moist and addicting. I am not convinced that it is authentic, but it's incredible. I did add raisins but it was incredible. All the kids at the preschool where I work look forward to this annual St. Patrick's Day treat. It comes out like a big, moist, buttery biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this for the first time today. It was so easy and fantastic. Great consistency and just slightly sweet. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States