Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
GREAT as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made it for St. Pat's Day and I loved it. I definitely would advise to add the raisins and maybe some dried cranberries. My kids just broke it off in chunks & ate it throughout the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I followed the advice of the add. sugar & raisins, lower temp, and frequent basting. This bread was delicious. I made 2 & froze 1. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I have never made Irish soda bread before, but I will be making this one again! Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Had to find a recipe for Irish Soda Bread. Read multiple reviews and decided to go with this one. Followed it JUST AS WRITTEN. When cooking, I "basted" it every 15 minutes which also enabled me to keep track of right amount of time when cooking it. Took just about 40 min in my oven. LOVE not having to knead the bread or letting it take time to rise. Made it for hubby's potluck on St. Patrick's Day and got rave reviews. People wanted the recipe :) As the bread let the house with him that day, it looked and smell sooo good that I had another loaf going in no time at all for the family! It is delicious. On second loaf actually let the dough "set" 30 minutes before putting into the oven to see if it would enable the baking powder/soda to go to work sooner and get more rise - there was absolutely no difference from the loaf that didn't have 30 minutes of sitting time, so SAVE YOURSELF THE TIME and just plop it into the oven. Tastes great fresh and toasted also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Really easy and a great bread to compliment Irish Stew. However, I found it to be a little dry and crrumbly. I'll adjust the flour/liquid ratio when I next make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna-Bat
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I've never made Irish Soda Bread, but this turned out delicious. Made it to go with an Irish stew. Dry, but still moist inside. I love the crunchy exterior. The only thing I didn't do was brush the buttermilk/butter on the outside of the bread, I just did melted butter. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I feel bad for giving this bread a bad review because of all of the good reviews. Maybe I just don't know what Irish soda bread is supposed to be like. If it's supposed to be like a dry, crumbly, biscuit-type bread, then this recipe has hit the mark and I'm just not a fan. This is the second time I've made it, thinking I must have missed something the first time, but it's still as dry and crumbly as ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
All really loved. Make more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Was easy and delicious.. Will make this again with all my Irish meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States