Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I followed recipe exactly as written so I could give a "true" review. I absolutely love this bread!! I can only imagine that adding a few different ingredients like raisins would enhance the flavor. But just try it as is, it's truly delicious. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very easy and soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! Very moist, airy and tasty. I was skeptical since most breads require yeast. I did make a few small changes. I omitted the buttermilk and used 1/2 cup low fat vanilla yogurt and 1/2 cup 2% milk. (Many reviews stated the bread was dry, and I think mine wasn't because of the yogurt.) I also let it sit for about 15 mins before baking to let the ingredients rest (think that's why mine was airy and not too dense). I baked it at 350 for 55 mins. Came out perfect! Next time I might even used less sugar. (I was nicely sweet but would be good less sweet too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It was very good...used some of the tips in the reviews...added raisins, used the KitchenAid stand mixer, basted top w/ the butter/buttermilk mixture 4 times during cooking, added some sugar crystals to top, cut back to 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Easy to make and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Was pretty good. Had to add more buttermilk while mixing to get more than crumbles but I'm at a very high elevation. It wasen't quite as good as the local irish pub but I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This recipe is so easy! I love making it to go along with a soup, stew, or chili. Something juicy to dip it in. Yum! Once I didn't have any regular sugar so I used brown sugar and it tuned out just as tasty as it did with white sugar. Again, Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicarabica
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Brilliant! I cut the sugar in half and made a savoury variation, adding rosemary and pine nuts to the dough. I then stuffed the X in the top of the loaf with goat cheese before baking. So good. But on its own and with the full 4 tbsp of sugar, it's also delicious. I can't believe how easy it was. The crust is crisp and buttery and the inside is moist and dense, not crumbly. I know it will be a staple from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicarabica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
YUMMMMMYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a good rustic bread with soups or like items especially. Think I will cut down on the sugar by 1/4 the next time. Really liked the crunchy crust and soda flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States