Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Used the Kitchenaid mixer. Added one cup of raisens to the recipe. Used butter not margarine. Next time I will separate the dough to make two loaves. That should help the cooking time. Husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Finally succeeded in making bread! The first time I followed this, the bread was great except for an unfortunate raw spot in the top that just wouldn't cook away. After reading a few reviews, this was what I did. Followed the recipe, except I made buttermilk from milk and lemon juice. Combined all ingredients, kneaded in a large handful of raisins, and set on a floured pizza stone. Cooked at 350 degrees for an hour, took it out half an hour in and braised with milk and butter and returned it to the oven for the remaining half hour. After it hour was up, I took it out and immediately wrapped it in foil and a dish towel in room temperature, until it cooled. It cooked completely through and is moist, fluffy, and delicious. Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very easy recipe and quite tasty. I love how it can be completely made in one bowl. I didn't have to knead the dough on the counter as it mixes extremely well right from the bowl you use. I hadn't made an Irish Soda bread before but I will continue to make this one in the future. I used the buttermilk because I hadn't cooked with it before but will use the usual substitutes in the future so that I can make this bread whenever I want. A modification that I plan to do in the future is to add grated cheese and garlic for a different flavour. It won't be Irish but I think it will turn out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I followed recipe exactly as written so I could give a "true" review. I absolutely love this bread!! I can only imagine that adding a few different ingredients like raisins would enhance the flavor. But just try it as is, it's truly delicious. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very easy and soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! Very moist, airy and tasty. I was skeptical since most breads require yeast. I did make a few small changes. I omitted the buttermilk and used 1/2 cup low fat vanilla yogurt and 1/2 cup 2% milk. (Many reviews stated the bread was dry, and I think mine wasn't because of the yogurt.) I also let it sit for about 15 mins before baking to let the ingredients rest (think that's why mine was airy and not too dense). I baked it at 350 for 55 mins. Came out perfect! Next time I might even used less sugar. (I was nicely sweet but would be good less sweet too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It was very good...used some of the tips in the reviews...added raisins, used the KitchenAid stand mixer, basted top w/ the butter/buttermilk mixture 4 times during cooking, added some sugar crystals to top, cut back to 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Easy to make and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Was pretty good. Had to add more buttermilk while mixing to get more than crumbles but I'm at a very high elevation. It wasen't quite as good as the local irish pub but I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This recipe is so easy! I love making it to go along with a soup, stew, or chili. Something juicy to dip it in. Yum! Once I didn't have any regular sugar so I used brown sugar and it tuned out just as tasty as it did with white sugar. Again, Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States