Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This soda bread lives up to the Amazing taste and quality. I've made it three times. It is quite large so I made two smaller ones. I did add white raisins. A friend of mine who is Irish through and through suggested substituting the buttermilk for sour cream. I took her advice and made a batch. It was just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Kentrus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Let me state first that I have never eaten Irish Soda Bread, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I did use a cup of cranberries instead of raisins. This bread was good, with a slight sweetness, but it was a bit crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is the 2nd soda bread I've tried and this recipe is by far THE BEST of the 2. Very easy to assemble and the taste is WONDERFUL. I added the raisins which to me makes this bread even better. Very good with a little butter and jam. Will be having it alongside our corned beef, cabbage and potatoes for St. patty's Day tomorrow. Can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIZCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houlton, Maine, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly....easy to make and really good. Hubby gives it two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
left out the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrMagoo12771

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The pic looks like it has raisins in it but it's not in the recipe. So I did add the raisins in kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
yes & turned out lovely!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Excellent bread went great with corned beef dinner we had last night. Only change was that I used real butter in the bread and for the buttermilk wash for the outside. Was good toasted with egg and sausage for breakfast this morning too. I will use this recipe from now on for strawberry shortcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Used the Kitchenaid mixer. Added one cup of raisens to the recipe. Used butter not margarine. Next time I will separate the dough to make two loaves. That should help the cooking time. Husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Finally succeeded in making bread! The first time I followed this, the bread was great except for an unfortunate raw spot in the top that just wouldn't cook away. After reading a few reviews, this was what I did. Followed the recipe, except I made buttermilk from milk and lemon juice. Combined all ingredients, kneaded in a large handful of raisins, and set on a floured pizza stone. Cooked at 350 degrees for an hour, took it out half an hour in and braised with milk and butter and returned it to the oven for the remaining half hour. After it hour was up, I took it out and immediately wrapped it in foil and a dish towel in room temperature, until it cooled. It cooked completely through and is moist, fluffy, and delicious. Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States