Amazingly Delicious Whole-Grain Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used only whole wheat pastry flour and the recipe came out wonderfully. I used coffee granules instead of coffee extract; those were the only changes I made to the recipe. My one piece of advice would be to freeze the brownie for an hour before cutting it so the pieces will cut more cleanly. I used parchment paper so I was able to lift the brownie out of the pan very easily before freezing and cutting. I would be interested to know what the benefit of applesauce and buttermilk are to this recipe. Perhaps less fat is required because of them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Good brownies! I used NuNaturals Stevia with fiber and liquid Vanilla stevia. I did not have coffee extract, so used NuNaturals Cocoa Bean Extract (which heightened the chocolate flavor). Easy and quick and less calories using the stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
good brownie, good texture. I used 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips and i used all whole grain flour. I also used 1/4 cup of Truvia and 1/4 sugar instead of 3/4 cup of just sugar and it tasted just as sweet. It was a very healthy brownie and a great chocolate fix for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
After making these and trying a little bite, I didn't think my kids were going to go for these at all. My kids love brownies - rich, fudgy, sugary sweet brownies. But they actually liked these more than I did. Even though I think they would have eaten these plain, I made a batch of peanut butter frosting, which put these over the top for my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I used oatmeal flour instead of all-purpose flour, and they turned out great. Might want to use the whole egg and use 1/2 cup applesauce, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These shouldn't really be called whole grain brownies as there is only 1/4 cup of whole wheat pastry flour in the entire recipe. Made as is, they are good, but light - much like a chocolate cake. I would rather just make a regular 'indulgent' brownie recipe since this one only adds the little bit of w.w. flour. Made a second time, with the following simple tweaks: two whole eggs, all whole wheat flour (not pastry) and 1/2 tsp salt. They had a denser, fudgier texture with a bit more flavor and still retained moistness. I did not add the coffee extract to either batch as I don't have any and have actually never seen it anywhere. A bit of instant coffee might do as a replacement for that as I'm sure it adds to the recipe. I baked the recipe in muffin cups at the indicated temperature and time. Topped with butterscotch icing they made a yummy treat. My kids really liked both versions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made a few changes and it turned out great. I omitted the applesauce. I used the entire egg. Olive oil 1/4 cup instead of butter. Creme Fraiche instead of butter milk (I live in France). I also poured it into muffin tins (same temp & time) because I have been traumatized one to many times for undone insides when using whole wheat and they turned out AMAZING! Also, it helps with portion control (well, anyway it could). Great recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was actually pretty good and quite easy. I doubled the recipe and did an 11x8 pan so it took a while longer to cook. I also used all whole wheat flour and soy milk rather than butter milk. I didn't include the nuts of chocolate chips and it was fine without them. Although I did have some leftover chocolate frosting from another recipe so I used that to frost them and it was very yummy! The brownies were soft and chewy - not cakey. I used two whole eggs, rather than four egg whites (so it upped the fat content but was just easier to make).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Good brownie. For a healthier twist I used ground flax seed and water for the egg whites and all whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These were fabulous - I think the wheat flour added a great flavor to them, and I felt so virtuous (even though I ate almost the whole pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States