Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I've made this recipe many times, and I always wind up using 3 or more cups of all-purpose flour. It's simply too soupy for the 2 cups of whole wheat and 1 1/2 cups all purpose. There's no way you could knead this dough. Don't get me wrong, it's delicious and makes great crust, but I simply don't understand how it could be made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I love it! I used coconut oil instead of the olive oil. worked just as good and very yummy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe, and it gave me a nice thick crust by only doing one ball. The crust tasted excellent. The only con I had was step 3 which was unclear what to do with the dough after separating it or leaving it as one ball. So, I just put it back into the bowl lubricated with olive oil and let it sit for another 45 minutes. Other than that, perfect recipe and excellent crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Made this pretty much exactly as it calls for, used exactly these ingredients, only thing I did different was only let it rise once..it was DELICIOUS!!! I'm switching my family to healthier foods and this is a BIG step for them! I love the slightly nutty flavor and was surprised at how light it was! Excellent recipe! This one is going in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingcakemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was very, very good. I made my dough in the bread machine, with the wet ingredients on bottom. I put the salt in before the flour to keep it away from the yeast, which was bread machine yeast. After a couple of attempts I finally omitted the white flour and used 3 1/4 Cups whole-wheat flour, to make it truly "whole wheat". I also followed the suggestions I read below to bake at 500 with no toppings, then top the pizza and return to the oven at 425 for 15 minutes. The texture of the crust was even better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
It IS amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very good. We prefer two thin crusts. It even freezes well. I make the dough ahead of time and leave it in the refrigerator to thaw in the morning and it is ready by the time I make dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for pizza crust. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The dough was delicious, but the texture was more like bread than a pizza crust- too fluffy and soft for my taste, but I might use the recipe for dinner rolls in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 740) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States