Amazing White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I found that this recipe was tasty but called for WAY too much red pepper flakes! I used one tablespoon instead of two and it was still overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janay
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
WHOA! I'm absolutely convinced that two tablespoons of red pepper flakes was a typo. She had to have meant teaspoons. The initial flavor of the sauce is amazing until you get the hot flavor of the flakes. Between 0-2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes make this dish a wonderful keeper in our home. I also cut the amount of oil in half and used heavy cream. Other reviewers complained that there weren't enough clams in the recipe. However, if you're concerned about picky eaters, the amount in the recipe is plenty. Note: if you have already followed the recipe exactly and find that it's too hot, adding some extra heavy cream and a half cup of freshly shredded parmesan cheese definitely cools it off without losing any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I thought this was grreeat!!! A little too much oil.. I found that out after...Sorry guys should have listened to the other chefs... The aroma was wonderful and just enough spice. I also used heavy cream instead of half and half... Thanx for the recipe... this will be the one i use from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Very good. I put less oil and and some roma cheese when cooking it to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This sauce has a really good flavor, but I think it has a little too much oil and is a but runnier than I would like. That said, it tastes really good and I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great for low carbers if served with Dreamfields pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goatette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I was actually looking for my recipe to email someone, and this comes close - to address people's comments here, I make it like this, but start with a roue of butter and flour - you could use cornstarch. Then it gets thick without trying to reduce it so much. Classic recipe, to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was good and quite easy. I only used 1/2 tsp of pepper flakes and it was pretty spicy, next time I'll use 1/4 tsp. I also only used 2 tbls olive oil. I added 2 tablespoons of corn starch at the end to make it more like a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
My husband took this for his lunch the next day at his department store. The aroma filled the lunch room, and everyone envied him. I made it, and added salad shrimp and a little more clams, and SOOO tasty. I will be making this again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I was really not that thrilled by this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted like red pepper flavored cream. My hubby said it was OK but he would not be upset if I didn't make it again. OOh well back to my search for a super white clam sauce recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States