Amazing White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have to say we loved this one. I did make a few changes. I didn"t use all that olive oil, just enough to cook the onions and garlic in. I also added some wine before the the clam juice and let the alcohol cook off. Last but not least I used heavy cream because that is what I had in the frig. Wait there was one more thing,,,fresh peper. I add it to almost everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great recipe however I would cut the red flake to 2 teaspoons...also, heres a good trick to REALLY bring all together, saute some onions and bacon and then add those to the recipe....outstanding results!....Never had a complaint yet and I am constantly hounded to make this dish for the family and crew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadMike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe was wonderful. Only things I added were fresh crumbled bacon when I added the cream, and 1 tbspn lemon juice to the clam juice. I also thickened the sauce with a little corn starch. I had so much left over, I made clam chowder with it and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My dh adores this dish! I always sprinkle some cayenne in it instead of red pepper flakes, just enough to have some bite. I think it needs either more cooking time or some cornstarch in order to make a thick sauce, but it tastes great whether it's thick or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Just made this for lunch for our family. I followed the direction exactly and used 2 tablespoons of red pepper but it was too much. I felt like it was all I tasted. Next time, I would reduce it to 1 tablespoon or even less so we can taste other ingredients more. I also thought that it made a lot of sauce (more than we needed) so we would increase the amount of pasta so we can enjoy the left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
My Family loved this. I did add extra clams, I mixed minced with whole clams, 2 cans of each. We will repeat this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Cut olive oil to 2T or use 1/4 c. butter. Use baby clams not minced Use heavy cream and add 1 T flour or sauce puddles on the plate under the noodles. Use fresh parsley and/or basil during last minute of cooking. With these modifications the recipee was excellant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
i did not care for this recipe! i would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
1T butter, 1 T evoo, 2 10oz cans clams and 2 8.5oz bottles clam juice. Added 1 T flour after cooking onions before adding clam juice. Reduced down by 2/3rds before adding half and half and clams. Cut pepper flakes to 2t (just right). Cooked pasta al dente then dumped into sauce to absorb and thicken. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We didn't find this to be that amazing. It was just average. Certainly edible - but I would not keep the recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States