Amazing Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is a very good sauce for tortellini. The only changes I made were to use walnuts instead of pine nuts and to add approximately 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. The garlic powder definitely improved the sauce. Initially I wasn't sure which type of sun-dried tomatoes to use. I decided used dry packed sun-dried tomatoes, next time I will use oil packed sun-dried tomatoes because the dry packed ones stayed very firm and I didn't like that texture. In the future I will also leave the nuts out of the recipe. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Five stars plus! This sauce really fits its name - amazing! My very Italian household was raving about it. Like everyone else, we added garlic, the ommission of which was the only flaw of this recipe. We used sundried tomatoes in oil and I commonly substitue half and half for cream, just to save on fat. I was a bit concerned about the addition of mozarella, but it worked perfectly. Smother a bowl of gnocci with this sauce - you will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
A great recipe that can be made healthier by using low fat evaporated milk, rather than cream. Evaporated milk has thickness to it, like cream. I also used less cheese to make it healthier--it surrenders a little bit of taste, but also a lot of calories. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trainerleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This dish is wonderful. I was trying to find a recipe for one of my favorite meals from a local Italian restaurant, and this was perfect! I did make a few changes. I substituted a grated Italian 6-cheese blend (mozzarella, provolone, parmesan, asiago, fontina and romano)for the 1/2 C mozzarella. I also browned 1/4 lb. of Italian sausage in garlic and added that to the cheese sauce. The sauce is salty enough, so I did not any additional salt. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
A really nice recipe, very similar to the kind you can buy in the deli section of your grocery store. I added a few things to this recipe: 1-chopped onion, 2-gloves chopped garlic and fresh sliced mushrooms (didn't really measure how many I used). I sauteed them in a mixture of olive oil and butter. I also did add about 5 large tsp. of tomato paste because I found the sauce needed a kick. I cut the sun-dried tomatoes (not packed in oil) with kitchen scissors and boiled them in water for about 5 minutes. This really helped to soften them up, they were not chewy at all. I also omitted the pine nuts. I'll be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACPHISTO1993

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This stuff is great! Quick too! We had it over cheese stuffed tortellini and it was sooo good! I bought sun-dried tomatoes in a jar, drained the oil off and put them in a food processer for a few seconds. Everyone loved it- and I have picky eaters! Had a little leftover sauce, so I put it over pasta and it was very good heated up too! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This sauce has become one of my favorite. If you like creamy, cheesy taste this recipe is the one for you. I've tryed it on fettuccini, and meat ravioli...Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was an excellent, simple recipe, that was quick to make and really dressed up an ordinary weekday dinner. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because I improvised a little taking tips from some of the other reviewers, and so didn't use this exact recipe. I served it over cheese tortellini and pan seared boneless pork chops. Details: I used olive oil instead of butter and sauted 1/3 diced onion, 1 chopped garlic clove, sliced fresh white cap mushrooms and maybe 1/2 cup of diced sundried tomatoes packed in oil; then added salt, pepper and about a cup of heavy cream and a tsp. of tomatoe paste. I left out the mozzerella and parmesean. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This recipe made my supper look and taste like it came from a restaurant. Like other reviewers, I removed the pine nuts and added garlic powder. I also bought garlic sausage, removed the meat from its casings and cooked that in a frying pan to serve on top of the pasta. It was absolutely delicious. However, I used 35% cream to make this (not sure what percentage heavy cream is supposed to be) and found it much too fatty. Next time I'll just try using whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is our favorite! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States