Amazing Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I was really looking forward to this but for some reason the sun-dried tomatoes I bought tasted like raisins! I bought the sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil. So it wasnt very good : ( Other then that the sauce was very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Love this recipe! Yummy but oh so simple! One thing I do differently is to chop the tomatoes small/thin and sautee it until tender with some olive oil so its not so rubbery when you eat it. Doing this also infuses the sun dried tomato flavor in the sauce. I like to make this with sun dried tomatoes that are just DRY not in olive oil. The tomatoes packaged in olive oil give a different taste to it that I am not a very big fan of. Kind of makes it taste fishy? I guess thats the best was to describe it. But anyways great recipe! I serve this with grilled chicken and pasta cooked al dente! Yummy... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I make this all the time. We love it. I add some Italian seasoned chicken and fresh bread and it's a great weeknight meal. I do not use pine nuts in it because I never have them on hand. Maybe someday.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
very easy to make, but heavy/rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I agree, adding a clove of garlic is essential. I used half & half (since I didn't have any cream on hand) and let the sun dried tomatoes sit in the heated sauce for 10 minutes before I warmed it back up & served it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
My husband, 3 kids and I loved this sauce. I served it over 1 lb fresh cheese tortellini, salad and rotisserie chicken that I picked up from the deli. I made this meal in 20 minutes, and it couldn't be easier. So for that it deserves 5 stars. I omitted pine nuts, and boiled the tomatoes a few minutes. Next time I will try the jarred ones in oil, so that I can cut out the boiling step. I also added a couple cloves of garlic, and some dried basil. I used a mixture of mozzarella and provolone, and that worked just was well. I will also try to find Sargento's shredded mozzarella with Sun-dried Tomatoes and Basil that another reviewer used because that sounds yummy. With only a few minor easy changes it's perfect for my family. 5 stars all the way! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was a bit bland for my family. Right before I served it, I had my daughter and husband taste it and we all agreed it needed something more. I ended up adding 1/2 c. of high quality tomato sauce and topping the dish with some Romano cheese and extra pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Very tasty but would suggest a fine chop of the tomatoes and possibly some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This dish was true to its name. Amazing! My husband loves this dish and always asks for me to make it. Sometimes I like to switch it up and add sauteed mushrooms and roasted red peppers to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Amazingly good and relatively simple to make. Love it with gnocchi and extra sun dried tomatoes. I use half and half instead of heavy cream and olive oil instead of butter to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States