Amazing Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this recipe with what I had on hand as I didnt have time to go to the store. I only ever have skim milk and was out of half and half so I made a rue. I melted the butter and added about 2tbsp of flour. Then I added about a cup and a half of the skim milk. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and some canned diced tomatoes that I mashed up a bit first. I had mozzarella, but only had the canned parmesan cheese and it worked fine. I served it over cheese ravioli with fresh baby spinach. YUM! It turned out very good. I can only imagine how great the full fat recipe is. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I judge my recipes on whether I would make it again or not. This is a NOT. I substituted half and half instead of heavy cream and used 2T butter and 1T margarine, so if you want to make it light - don't do what I did. Go for the fat version, as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very Nice! I have made this a few times and it is a BIG HIT! You must add garlic salt or garlic. I also added fresh mushrooms and it was very good! The 1st time I made it with half and half and that was great. Another time I tried to make it with milk and it was too runny. Thank you for sharing this YUMMY Recipe! My family thanks you as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very tasty! We added cooked cheese ravioli and real bacon crumbled into the sauce and it was wonderful! This sauce was so easy to make, we'll definitely use it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This tasted nice but I would NEVER make it again. If I'm going to ingest the amount of fat that's in a cream sauce, I want the sauce to be out of this world, and this didn't come close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is soooo delicious. I added some sausage and brocoli. I threw the brocoli in the pasta water when the pasta was almost done and it was defintely a 30 min meal. My boyfriend had thirds and he dosent even like cream sauce. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Fantastic recipe, we added garlic and topped with chopped basil. We also used bagged sun-dried tomatoes. Make sure you rehydrate them first to get rid of the chewy consistency. In the end this tasted like something from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This sauce was really good with added garlic and some mushrooms. The only problem I had with it was that the sundried tomatoes were a little tough. I might soak them in hot water first next time. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was great! I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream and it was excellent. I served it over mostaccioli with some sliced chicken breast and my husband and I polished it off. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
YUM YUM YUM! This tastes JUST like my favorite pasta dish from a small local restaurant. It is soooo delicious! I am not even a big fan of sun dried tomatoes, but trust me, this is fantastic! It's great with fresh cheese tortellini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarod's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States