Amazing Spinach Artichoke Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe as is. Do not try making it something it isn't by using light cream cheese, light sour cream and especially not margarine in place of butter. This is a rich, delicious side dish. If you want a fat free, PC side, eat some raw carrots. If you want a lovingly prepared, perfectly family-friendly dish, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Just a few notes...I always use light cream cheese, light sour cream, margarine instead of butter, and light mayo....which will greatly reduce the fat but not the flavor. Yes, it's on the decadent side, but it's well worth it for special occasions. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I was VERY disappointed with this recipe. I was questioning the amount of spinach when reading the recipe, but the reviews were good, so decided to make it as posted. I will NEVER do that again. Far too much spinach. Would have been much better with less spinach and more artichokes and mushrooms. I will likely make it again, but with about 1/2 the spinach, more artichokes and more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
After following the original recipe, which was delicious, I cut back on spinach, added more artichoke and mushroom, cut out the water chestnuts, and added a touch of jalapeño. The result: fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made the low fat version recommended in the reviews and it was spectacular. Everybody loved it so much that there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is an absolutely delicious casserole. My family loved it. Usually, I can't get my children to eat vegetables, but they cleaned their plates with this one. It will be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Bravo!! This was fabulous and I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Everyone of my dinner guests raved about this casserole. I made a complete Thanksgiving meal, and this was the stand out star. I will be making this again for sure. The roasted garlic in this recipe takes it to a new and flavorful level.Thanks so much mharbold~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe! A lot of preparation however... if you want quick this is not the recipe for you. If I make this again I will definitely make sure I have everything chopped up ahead of time - had my husband help me chop while I prepped other things but if I didn't have him to chop everything it would be time consuming. Tasted great and I used light cream cheese (on accident). Note about the roasted garlic: I roasted for 20 mins per directions but I think it could have gone another 5 mins for a total of 25 minutes. The garlic was soft at 20 minutes but not soft enough to completely mash into the dish right out of the peel. I also added a touch of olive oil before roasting. If you don't have time to thaw the spinach or forget to take it out to thaw - defrosting in micro for about 10 mins for 4 pkg works quite well. You have to squeeze all of the water and moisture out of it anyway so it didn't make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
By far the best vegetable casserole I have ever tried. If you want to wow your guests, make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very nice vegetable alternative to the green bean casserole. I only used 1/2 the cream cheese mixture and that was plenty! I also used fresh spinach--tastier, cheaper and healthier than frozen. Everyone raved about it at Thanksgiving. I also think you could get away with no fried onions on top and low fat cream cheese and sour cream without compromising the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitwelsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States