Amazing Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Final flavor turned out great, but I like many others could not keep the coating on the chicken upon frying. There was almost none of it left on the meat when it went in the crock pot. Still tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
If you make sure your lard is HOT, this works fine. Just like another said - your not cooking the chicken in the skillet, it cooks in the crock pot. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was a big hit at my house. I took some advice from other reviews and coated the batter with flour before frying, as well as using an entire can of soup and the entire 6oz can of frozen concentrate. The chicken had a wonderful orange flavor all throughout, and although some of the batter ended up coming off in the slow cooker, what was left was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
The chicken retained a very good flavor, but the frying before the crock-pot was definitely unnecessary. I'll make it again--without frying it first. It just fell off and made the crock-pot hard to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I was also concerned about the fat content, so I fried the chicken in cooking spray and used 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup (it's what I had in the cupboard.) I also didn't have frozen oj, so I used the juice of an orange, with some orange slices trown in. We really liked it, the chicken was tender and the sauce was flavorful. Not bad for the first time using my crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is my favorite so far. I did it on the stove top and the flavor is amazing. It looks bland but it isn't. I added a can of carrots, pimentos and sliced bell pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I started making this recipe exact just to see if the reviews were true. After finding most were I quickly tossed the soup and used seasoned flour which worked great. The only one in the family who liked the recipe was my husband. I used a full can of broth and OJ. It seemed to much but with rice it was perfect. I don't know if i'll make it again. Only if my husband begs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars because it was extremely fattening to start. I tweeked out most of the fat by omitting the shortening and using the 98 (I think)% fat free creamed soup by Cambells. I also cooked it alittle differently. I mixed the seasonings together, floured the chicken and threw it in a nonstick skillet with cooking spray to brown. For the sauce I used fat free chicken broth, sugar twin brown sugar and 2/3 cup orange juice concentrate. Threw everything in the crockpot for about 4 and a half hours and YUMM! Will definately make it again, and again and ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I agree with the other reviewers. This is a great recipe if you just change it completely. Skip the soup, brown chicken dipped in seasoned flour, then simmer in the sauce (but use the whole can of broth and whole can of OJ with brown sugar to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Taste-tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States