Amazing Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Ok, so I was VERY weary of making this, after reading the reviews and especially after seeing the picture (I Thought, wow, that looks like something you'd see at the bottom of a porta-potty, not the bottom of a crockpot!!) But Im very glad I did try it...for the whole batter-falling-off issue, definitely recoat with another layer of flour when your done coating as per recipe directions. Or leave the soup out all together, but you will lose a thickness of coating if you do this, I know, I've tried it both ways. Also, I add the whole can of chicken broth and the whole OJ, as I like lots of extra sauce for dipping! It wasnt what you'd get at your local Chinese place, but it had an awesome orange flavor, and we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice and both times I did not use the crockpot, I thought it was easier to just mix the orange sauce together on the stove top while the chicken is frying and then toss it all over some rice. I also don't use the soup on the chicken. I don't see how it would make it better. My husband and 2yr old both love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My husband thought this dish was okay, but my kids didn't like it. Too orangy-tasting for them. I didn't have fun preparing it - messy and cumbersome process of dipping chicken in soup and frying; then most of it didn't stick to the chicken during frying. Most of the can of soup is unused, so you just throw it out afterward, which is wasteful. The finished dish isn't visually appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlisJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opheim, Montana, USA
Living In: Polson, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Not my cup of tea, though the family enjoyed it. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was pretty good. The frying before slow cooking was kind of difficult and I don't know how worth it. I slow cooked this for two hours and it was nowhere near done, so I transferred it to the oven (covered with tin foil) and baked for 30 minutes on 375 - it was cooked perfectly. You could definitely taste the orange juice. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I really liked this recipe! It was pretty easy to prepare. Instead of the shortening for frying the chicken I used a few tablespoons of olive oil. I also floured the chicken before dipping it in the soup mixture. Also I used the Splenda Brown Sugar in place of reg. brown sugar. I served it with a classic risotto & it was delish! My 17 month old son LOVED it! I'll be making this a lot from now on! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Some reviewers have had problems with the chicken soup mixture not sticking to the chicken breasts. I solved this problem by dipping the chicken breasts in the chicken soup mixture, and then dipping them in bread crumbs before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Really a nice dish. I skipped the browning and just threw everything in the crockpot because that is why I use it- so I don't have to do more than one step in preparing dinner! I left the lid off the last hour to thicken the sauce. Tasted delicious with potatoes (instant). I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
this wasnt bad to me, my roommate hated it tho and i will admit it is a bit too orangey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSSERICA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I really liked this - served it over risotto. I, too, skipped the pan frying and doubled the OJ concentrate. my daughter thought it was too orangy, I thought it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wargo

Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States