Amazing Pork Chops in Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a wonderful sauce - great flavor - I would thicken it a little with a roux the next time as it was a little thinner than I would have preferred. But the flavor was so rich - we served it with wild rice on the side and every drop of the sauce went! I also would think about making more sauce - we made it with 4 chops for 4 people and it was barely enough sauce so I might think about doubling it next time around, it was so good! Added note: since my initial review, I decided to retry with sherry instead of white wine. wow! a really winner there too! and try it with chicken as well!! you just can't go wrong with this. you might also try adding the mushrooms with the white wine and chops - they take on the wine flavor and are even more yummy. and i always double the sauce so there is no fighting at the table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
very nice flavor of sauce..I to added some flour to thicken it up. I also doubled the sauce recipe. I served it over white rice...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinWebster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Made this last night, and everyone LOVED it! The pork chops were nice and tender and the sauce was delicious. Next time I make it I will definitely double or even triple the sauce recipe. I just made a couple small changes - first, I used low sodium beef broth because I didn't have any wine. Also I added about 1/4 C finely chopped onion when the chops were almost done browning, and then after I removed the chops I added the mushrooms to the onion and let the veggies saute for a little bit until they were softened, and then added the cream. I didn't have any problems with the sauce thickening, but it did take a little longer than 5 minutes (I just let it boil away and kept stirring). We all practically licked our plates clean - definitely a keeper, and thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
this was great. I did saute' a clove of garlic in the butter and wine and I added some thyme and extra cream. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made this last night and my husband loved it. It was very quick and easy to make. For the wine I used a pinot grigio. Next time I am going to use olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
A little too rich for my taste, but my husband loved it. I also used beef buillion instead of wine and I added cornstarch to thicken. Served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
One of my favorite recipes! I doubled the cream and wine amounts, plus I added a teaspoon of parsley, tyme, and basil. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe. I browned 4 pork loin slices, that had been tenderized, in butter - seasoning with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I added a can of beef broth and simmered for about 6 minutes. I removed the meat and strained the broth into another sauce pan. I sauted fresh mushrooms in a litle butter - returned the beef broth to the pan with 1 cup of heavy cream and a little Marsala wine. I cooked it until it reduced a little and thickened. This sauce is wonderfull. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and a veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNDMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These were ok. The sauce was a bit thin for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carriep63

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States