Amazing 'Pizza' Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Sadly, we really disliked these. I spent a good amount of money on 4 beautiful pork chops and wanted a fantastic preparation. This recipe had rave reviews and sounded delicious. This was nothing like I imagined. The chops were moist but the delicate flavor of the pork was completely overpowered. I could have used chicken breasts and the flavor would have been the same and I would have saved 3$ a pound. The tomato slices needed s&p and the skins became unpleasant tough stringy loops. The freshness of the herbs was lost after 25 minutes of steaming. The method for adding the cheese seemed to be an afterthought. The cheese tasted as if it was not a part of the dish. It was barely warm and badly melted. I may try this idea again with marinated chicken breast, garlic and onion cooked in the olive oil, seasoned, peeled tomatos, a little anchovy paste, cheese and dried herbs added right away and fresh herbs added at the end. I think I would cook this uncovered as well to get some of that great grill flavor. Sorry, but we were very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made this inside in the skillet and they still turned out fantastic! Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Don't put tomatoes and herbs on until chops are mostly cooked- makes the grilling a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sing1015

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Meh. Chops were dry; cheese was oddly tasteless and therefore not worth all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MoeLucky1
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I seasoned my pork medallions with steak seasoning; I didn't have a fresh tomato, so I used a can of "garlic & olive oil" diced tomatoes and covered the pork before baking in 350 oven. Afterwards, I covered with shredded mozzarella and garnished with fresh basil. We loved this and will make it again. I will adjust cooking time, as my pork was slightly dry. Easy and quick - can be made for company and will be sure to impress. I served with my own version of oven grilled vegetables. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoeLucky1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are AWESOME!!! I've made pork chops following this recipe, and also with variations to the recipe. Changing the cheese, changing the spices, adding finely diced peppers, etc...it is all just SO GOOD!!! :) Thanks for a recipe that is in regular rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
It really does taste like summer. I made mine in the oven and they were very juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
When reading the recipe, I thought wow, this should be really good! But I made a couple of modifications that proved to be the undoing of this meal. My thought was if I seared the pork chops directly on the grill first, before placing the other ingredients on top, they’d take on a nice grilled exterior and a smokier flavor. After searing the chops I transferred them to a foil tray. I layered on the tomatoes, basil, garlic and mozzarella and then put the pan back on the grill. However, by doing this, the flavors didn’t get a chance to marry. This likely wouldn’t have been the case had I followed the directions as written. As a result, my version was a disappointing two stars, whereas had I followed directions it would likely have been rated the four stars I originally expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Delicious! I made a few changes - used 4 pork chops and dried oregano instead of fresh. I also topped the chops with some cooked onion. I browned them in a pan before putting in the oven as a previous reviewer mentioned. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Ashley, Emily and I liked them, but the rest of the kids were less than enthusiastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States