Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this cake this morning to take to a family brunch. I followed the recipe exactly as written other than substituting light sour cream for regular sour cream and skipping the dusting with powdered sugar. I lined the pan with foil, as directed, and sprayed the foil lightly with non-stick cooking spray. I had no problems getting the cake out of the pan. It was absolutely delicious and was a huge hit! There was not a piece left when I came home. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I would call this cake DANGEROUS!!! It is EXTREMELY good and simple to make. It was gone super fast between myself, my husband, and 2 teenage daughters. I was trying to multitask and made this while doing some other things and accidently left out the vanilla and STILL delicious. (I really like vanilla, BTW) Try this. You will NOT be sorry. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I just made this recipe and...whoa. SO good. I just wanted to get rid of some sour cream in my fridge and thought this would make for a nice snack. The ONLY thing i changed was i used about 1/4 cup less sugar. Just because a lot of reviews said it was way too sweet. And since i don't plan on having it with coffee (trying to cut back) i knew that making it a little less sweet would make it easier to eat on its own. Otherwise i followed everything exactly. Although, i don't understand the point of the foil? I didn't "flip it out" because then all my topping would be on the bottom... It was nice to just lift out the foil though and pop the whole thing on a wire rack. But otherwise, i don't see the point of the foil.. I didn't have an issue with the topping sinking. Actually, i thought the batter was wayyyy too thick and that it was going to come out weird, but it didn't! It's perfect and delicious. Definitely going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
The flavor was very good although very sweet to me. But... the timing on the recipe was very wrong for me. I checked with a wooden skewer at 35 min and it came out clean in center and the topping was medium dark brown, so I took out. After cooling, it sank in the middle, badly. Under the crispy topping it was not done at all. I cut the edges off and tried to bake the gloppy mess from the center. I was so disappointed because I had made for an event, that it did not get taken to. I should of checked better for doneness, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Epic. Made it in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Looooooove! Have made numerous times with butter or margarine and in bundt or sheet pan. Good ALL ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kl23453

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I wasn't a huge fan of this coffee cake but no one complained about it. It came out moist but a little heavy-ish. Just a LITTLE though. I also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla to the cake batter due to other reviewers feedback about flavor of the cake. Other change I made was to line the bottom of the pan I used with parchment instead of foil, just personal preference, I find things bake better that way and are easier to cut out. I also used melted coconut oil instead of butter for the pecan topping because I ran out. And I kept the topping sugar amount the same but almost doubled the pecan amount and it was for the best. In our household we love nuts so I would TRIPLE the amount of pecans if I made this again. And I'd probably use 1/4 cup less butter in the batter to see how that went. All in all I probably wouldn't make this again but would try something new first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made half if of recipe and it turned out to be very good. Did not have pecans on hand so I used sliced almonds instead. It was still great! For the toppings I put all the ingredients in a sauce pan over low-med heat, when the sugar was about to melt I turned the heat off and sprinkled it on top if the batter, I made sure to constantly mix it to get it evenly cooked. It's so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
really is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Not my favorite. Likely will not try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States