Amazing Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
These are very tasty! I also messed up a little and accidently used a small box of vanilla pudding instead of the larger 3.25oz box. And although they came out a bit dry, they were still very good! I added 1 cup of milk chocolate chips and 1 cup of raisins. Will definitely make these again. I can't wait to try them with chocolate pudding! Thank you, cicada77!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wow, did these bake up beautifully! I THOUGHT I was putting vanilla pudding mix in...smelled odd, pulled the box out of the trash....banana creme. lol. They're still phenomenal!! These will be a repeat(with vanilla next time)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
The first time I made this recipe I was just looking for an easy bar cookie with ingredients I had on hand. This is what I discovered. This recipe is outstanding on its own but it is so versatile it has to stay in the recipe box. First time, I saw I had pumpkin spice pudding in my pantry so I traded that out for the vanilla pudding. 2 cups of raisins instead of chocolate chips and a TBS Pumpkin pie spice. The next time I had butterscotch pudding and used 2 cups of butterscotch chips. Today I am making them again. I am not sure what changes I have in store, but even if I don't change it all it will be wonderful. Thank you Cicada77 for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I messed up a little - but it still worked out great! I used instant pudding by mistake, but it was too late so I went with it! I used 2 boxes since they were 1oz or so each, but I did stick with vanilla. I did have to cook it about 20 more mins than written, fyi.4 The end result not over-powering sweet, the choc chips added to it nicely. I liked it more the more I ate.The more I ate, the more I liked them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Made these for a community meeting, they almost knocked me down trying to get the last one! Great recipe just as is! The pudding gives it such a surprise taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Thought the recipe was great! Everyone loved it. Also tried it again using chocolate pudding and peanut butter chips and was also great and the pudding makes it moist but not gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe, I forgot the eggs! But it still turned out great. Today I'm making it again but am changing the vanilla flavored pudding mix to a different flavor and adding coconut! Such a versatile recipe! I LOVE it! (So does my family!) Update: I made this again, but didn't have vanilla pudding so I used banana creme instead. To even it out I added about 1/2 cup or so of peanut butter. Wow! Still amazing! This is probably one of the most versatile recipes EVER! Still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These were really good. I used butterscotch pudding mix because it's what I had on hand. Also, I sprinkled butterscotch chips on top. You could make a lot of variations based on what you have in your pantry. Cinnamon chips with raisins and pecans would be good or chocolate and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Sorry, but i really count on reviews when i look at recipes here and they're usually right on. This recipe was a real flop for me, though i followed the directions carefully. The bars were so gooey and just not cooked through. I actually put them back in the oven for 15 mins. and they were still gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe. I did make a few changes based on what I had in my pantry and they turned out amazing! I used one small box vanilla pudding mix, and one small box of butterscotch mix. Instead of chocolate chips I used a milk chocolate toblerone bar, and a white chocolate bar. I brought these to a get together and they were gone in 10 minutes! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States