Amazing Lentils and Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
i made this recipe very close to how it is written. I bought matchstick carrots that were already cut up instead of shredding them myself. I used a red onion-because I like red onion. I also found organic "baby kale" that was packaged like ready to eat salad. I used orange lentils because they were prettier than the green/brown ones, but I don't think it would matter. I added spinach too, because I needed to use it up. This was such a surprise! My eleven year old loved it and I loved it. We are the only ones to try it so far. Too bad it was 97 degrees outside today - it will make a great cooler weather meal- I will make this next month! It did make a ton, but my daughter and I will take it to school for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Glad I halved the recipe, as other reviewers suggested. Hubby loved it, and said it was a keeper, and he's pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My neighbors and I really loved this dish- even without the salsa (I was a bit chicken to try that). We ate it for three days because we had so much! Very filling and healthy-feeling. Next time I will use leftovers to try some lentil burgers and might also try a Peach-Mango salsa- thought that might add a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Clyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a great vegan recipe. Many of my friends are vegan and now I have a new recipe for dinner parties in my file. I thought the cayenne really contributed to depth of flavor. The salsa and the broth already had enough salt, so I skipped it in favor of a generous dose of black pepper. After reading others' reviews, I will add some ground beef, sweet potato, and sour cream next time I make it for myself, to turn it into more of a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
WOO HOO! First time trying lentils! I wasn't too sure about this. The salsa was throwing me off. The flavors really came together though. Made exactly as writted except used lower sodium chicken broth. Others have said this was a soup, but mine turned out as pictured. Kinda of thick and hearty. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is a very nice recipe! I used my pressure cooker - I sautéed the vegetables in the pot and added everything except the seasoning and kale. Cook for 8 minutes at high pressure (I actually did 10 minutes and that was a bit too long). Add the seasoning and kale and cook, without pressure, for a few minutes until it's all done. I added a little oregano and cumin, but that really depends on the salsa and broth you use. Super quick, easy and very delicious. The kale-phobic man of the house said it was good and ate the bowlful. I will make this often and it will be fun to try it with different salsas. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I have kale in my garden and found this recipe to use it for. I love it. I really didn't think this would be good. It just didn't sound exciting, but it is delicious. I used 4 c. vegetable broth and 2 cups beef because I had it leftover from something else. I won't use beef broth the next time. It is too salty. I didn't taste before adding additionaly salt which was a mistake. For next time: all vegetable broth, a mild salsa so I can add cayenne. Oh, and much more kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very good! What a nice, healthy and tasty recipe. I halved the recipe, chopped baby carrots, chicken broth and red lentils. Also didn't have to cook the lentils more than 25 minutes. I also added cannellini beans at the end with some browned Wegmans apple chicken sausage. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very easy and delicious. I added some ginger and chili powder too. Next time I would use more kale for my own taste (or substitute with more spinach but that's just because some family members don't enjoy the kale texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Good recipe for a hearty weeknight meal! But definitely more than 6 servings, I'd say 10 at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States