Amazing Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by UkuleleGal
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I love lemon pastries and have been on a scone kick lately. This recipe is great but just made a few adjustments. I wanted to be able to bake them in the morning so i prepped the night before by mixing all the dry ingredients in step 2 in a medium sized bowl and mixed in the butter with my hands. I added 2/3 cup of toasted coconut. Then i covered it and stuck it in the fridge overnight. In the morning i preheated the oven to 400 degrees while i finished with the rest of the recipe. Then i divided the dough into two balls, flattened to ¾ inch rounds and cut into 8 pieces each (16 total scones). Brushed the tops with milk and baked for 30 mins (turning at halfway for more even baking). They didnt really brown on top but i knew they were done b/c how they rose and they were golden brown at the bottom edges. And as for the glaze i saved a small handful of the toasted coconut from the 2/3 cup and threw it into the processor for a few pulses. Then halved the powdered sugar to only one cup. Added a few drops of vanilla extract, the coconut and just added fresh squeezed lemon juice from half a lemon. I think the butter and water is unnecessary for a delicious glaze. This was the perfect amount of glaze for the 16 scones. They turned out beautifully. (See attached pic. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UkuleleGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I love lemon, love scones, and was impressed with the rating this recipe received and so I was eager to try it. I read and reread the recipe so carefully that I can't imagine what I could have done so wrong, but these turned out awful! Very dry and crumbly - it was just basically barely held together crumbs. I don't know how 12 TBSP of liquid can hold together 3 1/2 ish cups of dry ingredients, when it says mix until barely moistened, so if someone knows what I did wrong I would love try again and change my rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Used my food processor to blend in the butter as it finely blends it in. You must use COLD butter and process just until the butter is fine. I put the wet ingredients together and then poured it in the chute slowly on pulse until it started to stick together. I did add a couple more tablespoons of milk. Dump the dough out on a floured surface and mix gently with hands until it sticks together and pat into a circle about an inch thick. I cut in 12 wedges and spaced them apart on a pan sprayed with Pam. These were great. Don't skip the fresh lemon rind and fresh lemon juice. Served with fresh strawberries and black grapes. Great compliment with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These turned out perfectly! They were so good. I would definitely recommend this recipe. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I liked the recipe, but to me it didn't have a strong lemon flavor.... I recommend to use have lemon juice and half lemon extract for a stronger flavor.... But I still liked the recipe, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
First time I ever made scones and they turned out OMG good! Wanted to make these because they would be good for summertime here in Florida. Had 2 marriage proposals! One from my husband! :) Anyway, they are great! Angelstar, send us more with different fruits or fruit/nut combinations! Awesomeness, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Nice and cake-like, unlike many scones that are dry and crumbly! Wish I would have doubled the recipe like others suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have been looking for a lemon scone recipe and tried a few...with no luck. These are by far the best I have had---made them exactly like the recipe and they are winners...actually it should be be more than 5 stars! Thank you Angelstar for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This was my first attempt at making scones and they came out great. The texture was perfect as was the lemon flavor. Everyone loved them. I'll be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Very good, though I have had better. I followed the directions exactly. It took me 2 lemons to get the amount of zest needed (just FYI). My husband loved them. I might cut back the lemon juice in the frosting just a little next time. Really rather easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conansgirl1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States