Amazing Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have been looking for a lemon scone recipe and tried a few...with no luck. These are by far the best I have had---made them exactly like the recipe and they are winners...actually it should be be more than 5 stars! Thank you Angelstar for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This was my first attempt at making scones and they came out great. The texture was perfect as was the lemon flavor. Everyone loved them. I'll be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Very good, though I have had better. I followed the directions exactly. It took me 2 lemons to get the amount of zest needed (just FYI). My husband loved them. I might cut back the lemon juice in the frosting just a little next time. Really rather easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conansgirl1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANCERFREE
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
dumb, dumb, dumb, I had measured all the ingredients out except for the milk, frozen butter and icing sugar so that when I got home almost everything would be ready to go. Well I forgot to add the sugar and the lemon zest to the batter -DUMB-. I tasted a crumb when I took them out of the oven and I knew right away the sugar wasn't in there. yi, yi,yi,.... so i heaped on the icing glaze with lots of lemon juice and no water and both my husband and I thought they were still pretty good. I did add dried cranberries and used butter milk and make in the pie shape and cut the triangles that way. I can't wait to make them again with the sugar and lemon zest!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Like so many other reviewers, I think this recipe is AMAZING! I Made a1/2 batch on the glaze, & reduced the butter in it - still had plenty. My scone dough was a bit too dry, so I added about 2 T. More milk (no big deal). All in all, best scones recipe I've tried yet. I think this will be my new basic recipe! The possibilities are endless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Cooked these for nearly 20 minutes since they were still doughy after 14. That said, these were FANTASTIC. Loved the lemon flavor- the glaze was so tasty. Made these for Easter brunch and they were a hit! Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
WOW! The kitchen ended up a nightmare, but the consistency is perfect and the glaze, oh lawd teh glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I love this recipe! I always double the amount for the scones to match the recipe for the glaze. There is no adjustments needed for this recipe! Although I do like to add blueberries to make them lemon-blueberry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Just made these, as always looking for the perfect lemon scone. These are fabulous! The scones' density is perfect -- not too dense, not too airy -- and they were perfectly moist! A hit with all of us from age 6 up! Some of us would prefer even more lemon flavor, but no glaze, so next time I'll forego the glaze and add more zest and/or juice or extract to the batter. However, it was DELISH! with the glaze we made. We did make a change to the glaze -- used just a cup or so of powdered sugar, mixed in lemon extract + lemon juice, and just a smidgen of water [no butter, no vanilla]. We like it lemony & tart! Drizzled it over the cooled scones & our glaze hardened nicely. It added a perfect lemony YUM to the scone! And it didn't make too much. This is a great scone recipe! Will try the recipe again, too, replacing all things lemon with all things orange for orange scones. This base recipe is so great, I'm sure those will be amazing, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
These were the best scones I have ever tried. People at work were stealing them from me right out of my lunch bag! I followed the recipe pretty closely but in addition to the lemon juice and zest I added white chocolate and wild blueberries (if you try this freeze the blueberries and then add them right at the very end, after the dough is mixed or everything will turn purple). They were soooo good- they held together well (not crumbly like some recipes I have tried) and they were not dry. They are very flavourful- I am going to add chopped up caramels and apples to my next batch... YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States