Amazing Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made these as directed last night. They came out perfect! Had a hard time finding just lemon scones, then I found this gem. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the lemon glaze on top at the end, I used my leftover lemon curd which was the perfect accompaniment. Will definitely save this recipe and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicious! I used some whole-wheat flour, which probably made it a bit drier. I tried it first without making the glaze, and though it had a nice lemony hint, it did need something more. I only had half a lemon to do the glaze, so I added a lot of fresh lime juice, and the glaze was so good that it was rather addictive. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These are delicious! I made them for my friends birthday and we could not stop eating them! I followed the directions exactly and they turned out better then expected. The were light, crumbly, and very flavorful. There was plenty pf extra glaze which i put on some extra cookies i had lying around, and it was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose
Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Photo by Mogtastic
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
These were very good. They turned out very soft, almost cake-like. It isn't precisely what I was expecting but they are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Yumm! Made these for the Wednesday morning Yoga Girls! The icing is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I loved the texture and flavor; they rose nicely in the oven and were delicious warm. Easy and fast to make; ready to eat before you know it. I'd like a bit more intensity in the lemon flavor in the scones and frosting. Either halve the frosting recipe or double the batch of scones! There was more than enough to slather on every bite and we still had leftover frosting. We ran out of scones way too soon. We can't eat a lot of real sugar. Made the scones with splenda and they came out fine. The real sugar frosting was too sweet for us. Next time I'll try a sweetened lemon butter with zest in it instead of frosting; or a lemon-flavored cream cheese frosting. We can use splenda since sugar isn't the main ingredient. All Recipes Cranberry Scones By Anne DeCosta has a great butter recipe that should adapt to lemon zest and splenda. Even though we can't eat the sugar, as is, Angelstar's Amazing Lemon Scones recipe is 5 star. This would be lovely for Christmas breakfast or for a ladies tea. Then by all means make all the frosting and serve the extra "on the side."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These were really delicious! I often feel like scones can be a bit flavorless and floury, but these were quite the opposite! They were very moist and had a great lemon flavor. The vanilla-lemon glaze was perfect on top as well. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I brought these to a tea party and they were well received! I made them again a few days later and got the same, delicious results. The glaze is delicious - I only used about half, though. Definitely a recipe to keep, and by far the easiest, tastiest scones I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
If you love lemon, you must try these scones. You will love them. They have the perfect texture and a fabulous lemon flavor. I’m lazy, so I used my food processor to cut the butter into the flour mixture, and then added the liquid mixture through the shoot. Fast and easy, just be sure you don’t over process. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States