Amazing Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
These are the BEST! I followed the tips of previous reviewers and cut the glaze in half. It was plenty--even for my sweet tooth. I added a tiny bit of lemon extract to the recipe and pulsed the dry ingredients in my food processor (which worked great). These scones are so light! Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
The glaze for the scones is good. I found there was way too much glaze for my taste. Kind of a waste because I don't know what else to use it on. My husband and family loved them. I will probably make them again with less glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Excellent recipe! They melt in your mouth when they come out of the oven..I made these twice, once with the icing and the second time we topped them with lemon curd from Trader Joe's while they were still warm. Personally I liked them better with the lemon curd, my son liked them better with the buttery, sugary topping. This recipe is a keeper! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninten Vlad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Amazing, indeed! Way too much glaze though--try making half the first time because we were drowning in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I can definitely see why this got five stars. It's amazing and suuuuuper easy. Since I love lemon zest, I added the zest of two (limes actually, lemons are hard to come by in Guatemala). If you like to play around, I gave the second batch a tsp or so of vanilla and a few drops of almond extract. Very rich and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjhemory
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I'm not the scone fan in the family, my husband is, but these are excellent!!! Only change I made was to use cream instead of milk because I wanted to use it up. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Yummy, I have to make at least 2 sometimes 3 batches, or else they're all gone in an hour. I follow the recipe for the scones as is except that I use whole wheat flour. I still prefer my old recipe for the lemon glaze ( 1 1/2 cup icing sugar, 2 tbsp lemon juice, and add hot water- til liquid enough to brush on.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I thought they were amazing. Next time I will add a little more lemon zest to make the scone with a little more hint of lemon, but other than that they were the best scones I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
These are amazing! I've never made scones before but wanted to try them, and ended up not having the fruit required for other ones. So I gave these a go, and they are delicious! Super easy to put together, we will make them again and again. The only thing I would add is that the icing makes quite a bit. I will likely dunk them entirely in the mixture next time, or for a lighter, less-rich flavor, just cut the recipe for icing in half and you would have plenty to drizzle. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States