Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Love this! And I made some alterations. I doubled the pasta and used whole wheat penne. I also doubled the chicken, and sliced it instead of flattening it - cooked it in a pan with some olive oil and kept warm. I used turkey bacon and cooked it a bit before adding the other ingredients. As far as the sauce went, I used only one stick of butter and 3T cream + 3T fat free half and half, with the 5T of lemon and 1/4 C. wine. Fancy enough for important guests, but my family loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Haha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe. It did take longer than 30 minutes to prepare and I switched the order of the preparation to make it easier for me. I made the sauce last. I cooked the pasta, chicken (and put it in the oven to keep warm), then the vegetables, and then the sauce. I placed the pasta in a large serving dish, cut up the chicken and placed it on the pasta, poured the veggies on all of that and then the sauce when it was finished. I let it all sit for a few minutes, gave it a little stir, and then served. The sauce was easy to make and came together nicely. For my taste, there was too much lemon and the wine that I had on hand was on the sweeter side. Next time I will reduce the amount of lemon and be sure to have a drier wine. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious and fairly quick for a weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I must confess, I made this recipe for the first time YEARS ago, right after I first found this website, and I have never reviewed it. I have to say, this is honestly one of the best recipes I have ever made or eaten. It is super-rich, but worth the time and calories. If you want to seriously impress someone, you should make this dish. The only thing I would note is that it does not reheat very well if you have any left over. If being the operative word. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billikers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Oh wow, amazing is right! It took about 45 minutes total and next time I'll remember to start the pasta later to improve timing. Don't feel compelled to use all the sauce, because though it's delicious, it's RICH - like, artery clogging rich. Perfect meal on a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Chopped up the bacon and used half and half. It is excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was perfect. It was exactly what we needed today. Made our tummy's happy and our mouths zinging with great flavors. Some fresh crusy french bread tasted great sopping up that sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Great recipe. We have a local Italian rest. that had a dish I just had to try to replicate. So my version was boneless skinless chicken thighs thinly sliced. Capers, sliced banana peppers, sliced baby Bella mushrooms, diced vidala onion, over whole grain rotini. The sauce was perfect! Just about dead on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is a very good recipe, and I am docking a star because of the same criticisms that others have mentioned -- the prep time is completely inaccurate and I agree that there is too much butter. I ended up making the sauce as directed other than using only 1/2 the butter. I did not have any problems with separation in the sauce - it was smooth and lemony. I ended up making this quasi-vegetarian, so I left out both the bacon and the chicken though I did saute the mushrooms and artichokes in a little bit of bacon grease instead of olive oil for the flavor boost. I also used an 8 oz. package of baby bellas and a 14 oz can of artichoke hearts. I didn't have capers so didn't use them either. I did sprinkle the finished product with some freshly shredded parmesan which was a nice addition. Served with a cold glass of a good chardonnay (that I used in the sauce) this ended up being simple and very satisfying. It's a lovely dish full of summery flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Amazing is an understatement! I made a couple of months ago and have been waiting for another opportunity to make it. I followed the recipe pretty close to as written and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincesseLinds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States