Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sandi Phelps
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Love this!! I skipped out on the mushrooms and artichokes but did use the capers. My only suggestion is to make the lemon butter sauce last while chicken is cooking that way it doesn't seperate and get greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Phelps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I substituted asparagus for mushrooms due to allergies. Found it to be lacking in seasoning. In fact, I thought the asparagus was the best part of the recipe. I love all the components...chicken, wine, butter, lemon, capers and bacon...but in this recipe they just didn't seem to come together properly. It's edible but I'm continuing to search for a more flavorful version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Added julienned sun dried tomatoes and grated asiago cheese on top for an extra bite. Paired with asparagus, it's lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Quick Felts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Okay...amazing. One thing, I break sauces like some people break dishes. So my secret is to make roux to bind my sauce and then add the ingredients. A little thicker sauce, but definitely will not break. Sun dried tomatoes are a nice addition and if you want to cut the carbs and up the protein, this recipe is wonderful with quinoa instead of pasta!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I didn't exactly follow the measurements for the sauce and while my family loved the flavors, they wanted more sauce. It was a complicated process though, would have rather taken an hour rather than shoot for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My family loved this recipe, but I used way less fat than the recipe called for. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. It didn't thicken as much as it should until the butter was added. I used the suggestions from other reviews and used half the butter called for in 2 places in the recipe. I used olive oil instead of regular oil. I cooked the pasta and sauce at the same time to save time. Next time I would probably do the chicken early also. The recipe didn't make a lot of sauce, which I worried about, but as lemony/tangy it was, it was fine. I also used real bacon pieces that are sold as salad toppings (Hormel or store brand), and only used 2 oz. That way the bacon didn't overpower the dish. Finally I used fresh-grated parmesan as I plated it, which I thought added a nice flavor. Overall, a keeper recipe. Hubby and 3 teenagers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
this really was amazing! It took me a little over an hour, and I took quite a few shortcuts as mentioned in other reviews. I started with 3 thighs and cut them in chunks, then broiled them on high for 15 minutes or so. I made the sauce with a chardonnay, and only used 8T of butter. I had no issues with it separating, though I had a low and steady heat. I didn't have artichokes, and I made the bacon in the microwave and then crumbled it before adding it to the mushrooms (which I cooked in some butter). I poured half the sauce on the mushroom-chicken-bacon mix, and half on the farfalle after it was in the bowl. I stirred them separately and then together. I really thought the sauce was great, and I liked the dish, but it just took forever. Hubby liked it, but it's a little heavy so not a regular rotation for us. will make it for company in the winter, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I love this recipe - very rich - something different to throw in your rotation. Most of the kids aren't a huge fan because it's got a very lemon-y taste, but I love it. The only things I do differently are use less butter (the amount called for is really not needed, but that might be because I'm cooking for a large group and have to double or triple the recipe) and I don't use the capers because I forgot to add them the first time I made this. Not sure what exactly they taste like or if we're missing out by not adding them, but I think it tastes great without, so I've never bothered adding them. :) Oh and I also boil the chicken instead of frying it. Just boil it and then shred it and add it to the mixture when it tells you to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent! To cut fat, I omitted the butter in the skillet, used 1/4 cup butter in the sauce, and used lean baked ham instead of bacon. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe. Left out mushrooms (we don't like them) and added 2 cloves of chopped garlic when sauteeing the artichokes, capers & bacon. Doubled the sauce but used 1/2 & 1/s instead of cream. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States