Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Aldi's store chain carries GF chocolate and butterscotch chips. I'm going to try these with a bottom layer of ground GF rice chexs cereal (Aldi's brand) mixed with butter like a crust. I love this type cookie bar, I Sure hope they turn out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It was really good but very sweet! That's the only reason I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Of couse this is very tasty, but didn't hold together hardly at all. Very hard to cut too. I sprayed the pan with PAM and they stuck, so I should have used shortening. My gluten free guest only took one bite and my husband and I were left to eat the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I have made these with a crust using Annie's gluten free cookies. They were rabbit shaped called chocolate and vanilla. I put them in a food processor, then combined the mixture with a stick of butter for a crust. I eliminated the butterscotch chips and used walnuts for the nut part. They were better than the gluten recipe that uses graham cracker for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This dessert was super easy to make -- no chopping, melting, or even mixing! I made this dessert for a party which included a friend who cannot eat wheat. I was afraid it might be a little too sweet, but everyone loved it -- especially the men. Some of the guys, who are not big on sweets, had three servings! I think the coconut and peanut combination really appealed to them. I used lightly salted (rather than unsalted) party peanuts, added a bit more coconut than is called for, and cooled it in the fridge after about 30 mins. on the counter, so it would be ready to cut sooner. If you keep the ingredients on hand (and can find gluten-free butterscotch chips), this would be a great recipe to whip up in no time to serve to any guests, even the gluten-free ones! I'm sure you could substitute cashews for peanuts if you have guests with peanut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made these for a cookie exchange, my friend who is gluten free made me put extra in her cookie box because she said they were so Yummy! I agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Made this to bring to a friend but since her son has peanut allergies I substituted the peanuts with walnuts. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It needs some kind if crust, it was so sticky it's couldn't be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Our daughter was recently diagnosed with celiac disease so gluten free cooking is very new to us. I wanted to have a GF dessert for her at a recent dinner and since 7 layer bars are a family favorite I gave these a try. I used GF ginger snap cookies as others suggested and everyone approved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very tasty, but sooo messy. If I make these again, I'll definitely use a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States