Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I'd give this 6 stars if the option were available. My oldest daugher has Crohn's disease and is on a gluten-free diet. She LOVES these! I'm on no special diet and love them too. In fact, everytime I make them, they disappear. I've been asked for the recipe each time I make them and when I bring them to work, they disappear within minutes! Thanks so much! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Used Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies for crust. Make as directed, allow to cool, then crumble in your well greased pan. Pat down lightly then proceed with layers. We left out the butterscotch morsels (couldn't find any without gluten....but we didn't miss them). Great recipe! My dad has a major sweet tooth but is now restricted to a gluten free diet. I was tired of him missing out at dessert time during every holiday meal so I went searching for gluten free recipes. I came across this one and am thrilled! He LOVED it!! These little treasures really do make a difference for those that have a restriced diet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Easy and yummy. I made these for my Dad who is visiting this weekend and has celiac disease. Instead of butterscotch chips, I used Reese's peanut butter baking chips, which are gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe and everyone loved it (even though it was made specifically for someone on a gluten free diet). After reading the other reviews, I made several changes. Line the pan with Reynolds Release foil...they didn't stick at all. Also, I used more of the coconut on the bottom (it was more like a crust) and easier to handle.I also baked it about 10 minutes longer than indicated and that helped the bars stick together. I also added a handful of extra chocolate chips (or you can sprinkle them on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
**FYI GLUTEN FREE BUTTERSCOTH CHIPS-In addition to Kroger and Hershey's as mentioned in a previous review, Publix brand is also gluten-free. They have a great printable list on their website of all their storebrand items that are gluten-free. ** These came out great. I sorta combined this recipe with the Magic layer bar from Eagle recipe. I made a crust from Scharr GF shortbread cookies, and reduced the coconut to 1 1/3 cups. I kept everything else the same as this recipe. A great gluten-free dessert everyone will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I accidentally bought the most popular brand of butterscotch chips and found them to contain gluten. HOWEVER, I just found a "store" brand of butterscotch chips that don't contain gluten. Just read the labels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I am new to celiac and love to bake. This was a life saver! Do add more coconut- and when it says 'wait till completely cooled' that means COMPLETELY. I would cool overnight before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
GLUTEN-FREE BUTTERSCOTCH CHIPS - can be found by buying either Hershey or Kroger brand butterscotch chips. Read the package to make sure, but as of 11-23-09 both those brands are gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe and every suggestion is good. I used 1/2 cup white chocolate chips sprinkled on top and less than a cup of butterscotch. Being only gluten intolerant, the butterscotch did not bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States