Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
WAIT!!!! Before you make this recipe you should know that butterscotch morsels contain barley extract, which is not gluten-free. I would stick with semi-sweet chocolate morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crs0415

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
GLUTEN-FREE BUTTERSCOTCH CHIPS - can be found by buying either Hershey or Kroger brand butterscotch chips. Read the package to make sure, but as of 11-23-09 both those brands are gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is a good recipe but we have made them with a gluten-free ginger snap crust. Just crush gluten-free ginger snaps and combine with melted butter until the mixture holds together and press into the bottom of the pan. It works great and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe and everyone loved it (even though it was made specifically for someone on a gluten free diet). After reading the other reviews, I made several changes. Line the pan with Reynolds Release foil...they didn't stick at all. Also, I used more of the coconut on the bottom (it was more like a crust) and easier to handle.I also baked it about 10 minutes longer than indicated and that helped the bars stick together. I also added a handful of extra chocolate chips (or you can sprinkle them on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I am new to celiac and love to bake. This was a life saver! Do add more coconut- and when it says 'wait till completely cooled' that means COMPLETELY. I would cool overnight before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I decided to add a crust, using crushed Gluten free Ginger Snap cookies(roughly a cup), finely chopped pecans(roughly a cup) and 2-4 Tbls of melted butter. I also allowed them to cool overnight before I cut into bite size pieces, which was also recommened. These were very good. A great chewy cookie type dessert for those of us that are gluten intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this is similar to my Hello Dollies. You can use any GF breakfast cereal (like Rice Crunch'ems), mixed with melted butter, as a crust. BE AWARE!! that the most popular brand of butterscotch chips has gluten, so don't use them. I haven't found a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I'd give this 6 stars if the option were available. My oldest daugher has Crohn's disease and is on a gluten-free diet. She LOVES these! I'm on no special diet and love them too. In fact, everytime I make them, they disappear. I've been asked for the recipe each time I make them and when I bring them to work, they disappear within minutes! Thanks so much! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made these for the first time last night. They are YUMMY and turned out really well based on some of my own adjustments and reading other reviews here. First, and I'm surprised only one other reviewer mentioned this, I had to make these in a 8X8 pan. I can't even imagine how anyone makes it 9X13 unless she doubles everything. There simply aren't enough ingredients. I measured one cup of crushed Trader Joe's gluten-free ginger snaps. Then I melted 5-6 T of unsalted butter and mixed it with the ginger snaps and 2/3 of the coconut. I pressed all of that onto the parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and then layered according to the recipe (using chopped peanuts). I think next time, I will take another's suggestion and use toffee chips. I don't care for the butterscotch all that much. I'd also love to try pecans in place of the peanuts. Many reviewers mentioned the overly sticky results, so I used 1/2 of a can of the sweetened condensed milk. It was PERFECT! They were amazing right out of the oven, if you didn't mind eating them with a spoon :) I let them sit overnight to cool completely, and this morning I was able to cut them into bars quickly and easily. They hold together and are not too sticky. I only wish the chips had melted more. The bars do crumble some when you bite into them which I think may be a direct result of the chips not really melting much and holding all of the other stuff together. May try microwaving them ever so slightly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My boyfriends parents are in town and his dad cannot have gluten. We were having a fathers day bbq with him and I wanted a dessert he could eat. I put most of the coconut on bottom then choc chips, pecans, more coconut, chips and pecans then the condensed milk. They all loved it. I make these normally with the crust, but I would have never thought of it without the crust. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States