Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
My frist time making these they were a bit sticky, but we loved the taste so much we will make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
good, but needed some kind of crust..It came apart when I cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe and everyone loved it (even though it was made specifically for someone on a gluten free diet). After reading the other reviews, I made several changes. Line the pan with Reynolds Release foil...they didn't stick at all. Also, I used more of the coconut on the bottom (it was more like a crust) and easier to handle.I also baked it about 10 minutes longer than indicated and that helped the bars stick together. I also added a handful of extra chocolate chips (or you can sprinkle them on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I am new to celiac and love to bake. This was a life saver! Do add more coconut- and when it says 'wait till completely cooled' that means COMPLETELY. I would cool overnight before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is a good recipe but we have made them with a gluten-free ginger snap crust. Just crush gluten-free ginger snaps and combine with melted butter until the mixture holds together and press into the bottom of the pan. It works great and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Really needed a crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I'd give this 6 stars if the option were available. My oldest daugher has Crohn's disease and is on a gluten-free diet. She LOVES these! I'm on no special diet and love them too. In fact, everytime I make them, they disappear. I've been asked for the recipe each time I make them and when I bring them to work, they disappear within minutes! Thanks so much! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I decided to add a crust, using crushed Gluten free Ginger Snap cookies(roughly a cup), finely chopped pecans(roughly a cup) and 2-4 Tbls of melted butter. I also allowed them to cool overnight before I cut into bite size pieces, which was also recommened. These were very good. A great chewy cookie type dessert for those of us that are gluten intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this is similar to my Hello Dollies. You can use any GF breakfast cereal (like Rice Crunch'ems), mixed with melted butter, as a crust. BE AWARE!! that the most popular brand of butterscotch chips has gluten, so don't use them. I haven't found a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States