Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
After reading the "Wait" review, for safety, I omitted the butterscotch chips and added more chocolate chips and coconut. It was pretty gooey the first day, still, everyone liked it. But the next day it was firmer and cut a lot easier. Next time I will make it a day ahead and use the crushed gluten free gingersnaps for the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These bars are amazing but not gluten free as written. Don't use the butterscotch chips as called for in the recipe if you are making these for someone who can't have gluten. My mom made these bars and just used chocolate chips - they were excellent, especially the next day after they had a chance to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I used crushed Coco Pebbles mixed with butter as a crust. I also used only chocolate chips and used more coconut. They turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My boyfriends parents are in town and his dad cannot have gluten. We were having a fathers day bbq with him and I wanted a dessert he could eat. I put most of the coconut on bottom then choc chips, pecans, more coconut, chips and pecans then the condensed milk. They all loved it. I make these normally with the crust, but I would have never thought of it without the crust. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Good! I made this using rice crispy treats as a "crust" and everyone loved them! I made the recipe as directed, except I eliminated the butterscotch chips as one reviewer suggested just to be on the safe side. I made rice crispy treats separately. Then, I put the layer bars on top of the treats after they cooled. They were gone in a matter of minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
WAIT!!!! Before you make this recipe you should know that butterscotch morsels contain barley extract, which is not gluten-free. I would stick with semi-sweet chocolate morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crs0415

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have made these many times and everyone loves them, not just those on a gluten-free diet. They are very sticky and fall apart, but they are so good we keep making them anyway. Thank you to whoever suggested a crust. I'm excited to try them again but with a crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
this is similar to my Hello Dollies. You can use any GF breakfast cereal (like Rice Crunch'ems), mixed with melted butter, as a crust. BE AWARE!! that the most popular brand of butterscotch chips has gluten, so don't use them. I haven't found a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I decided to add a crust, using crushed Gluten free Ginger Snap cookies(roughly a cup), finely chopped pecans(roughly a cup) and 2-4 Tbls of melted butter. I also allowed them to cool overnight before I cut into bite size pieces, which was also recommened. These were very good. A great chewy cookie type dessert for those of us that are gluten intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I'd give this 6 stars if the option were available. My oldest daugher has Crohn's disease and is on a gluten-free diet. She LOVES these! I'm on no special diet and love them too. In fact, everytime I make them, they disappear. I've been asked for the recipe each time I make them and when I bring them to work, they disappear within minutes! Thanks so much! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States