Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I chilled it for two hours and used a pizza cutter to cut. I also couldn't find gluten-free butterscotch chips so I used heath toffee chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe but took the suggestion of adding a gluten-free ginger snap crust but without the butter. These were very sweet and sticky but that didn't stop them from being devoured! I think next time I was press the ingredients into the pan before baking to make them more firm... don't know it will help but I'll give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made these for a friend of mine with Celiac's and for being such a quick and easy dessert they turned out well. I'm not used to making something so simple, lol! Simple flavorful ingredients, good for when you don't have a lot of time (or space) to make a dessert, and even better for being gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granger, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and it came out like trail mix, not bars...definitly not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These are very sweet! I had a problem getting them out of the pan. They were very gooey. I ended up patting them in ground almonds, just so I could serve them. They did not look very nice on a plate but if you like sweet, it tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
GFS has (I think) gluten-free butterscotch chips. Ingredients - Sugar, partially hyrdrogenated palm kernel oil, lactose, whey powder buttermilk, nonfat dry milk, coconut oil, artificial colors, soya lecithin, natural and artificial flavors, cocoa powder, salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSierra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I accidentally bought the most popular brand of butterscotch chips and found them to contain gluten. HOWEVER, I just found a "store" brand of butterscotch chips that don't contain gluten. Just read the labels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
**FYI GLUTEN FREE BUTTERSCOTH CHIPS-In addition to Kroger and Hershey's as mentioned in a previous review, Publix brand is also gluten-free. They have a great printable list on their website of all their storebrand items that are gluten-free. ** These came out great. I sorta combined this recipe with the Magic layer bar from Eagle recipe. I made a crust from Scharr GF shortbread cookies, and reduced the coconut to 1 1/3 cups. I kept everything else the same as this recipe. A great gluten-free dessert everyone will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Easy and yummy. I made these for my Dad who is visiting this weekend and has celiac disease. Instead of butterscotch chips, I used Reese's peanut butter baking chips, which are gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe and every suggestion is good. I used 1/2 cup white chocolate chips sprinkled on top and less than a cup of butterscotch. Being only gluten intolerant, the butterscotch did not bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States