Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe but took the suggestion of adding a gluten-free ginger snap crust but without the butter. These were very sweet and sticky but that didn't stop them from being devoured! I think next time I was press the ingredients into the pan before baking to make them more firm... don't know it will help but I'll give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made these for a friend of mine with Celiac's and for being such a quick and easy dessert they turned out well. I'm not used to making something so simple, lol! Simple flavorful ingredients, good for when you don't have a lot of time (or space) to make a dessert, and even better for being gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granger, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and it came out like trail mix, not bars...definitly not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These are very sweet! I had a problem getting them out of the pan. They were very gooey. I ended up patting them in ground almonds, just so I could serve them. They did not look very nice on a plate but if you like sweet, it tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
GFS has (I think) gluten-free butterscotch chips. Ingredients - Sugar, partially hyrdrogenated palm kernel oil, lactose, whey powder buttermilk, nonfat dry milk, coconut oil, artificial colors, soya lecithin, natural and artificial flavors, cocoa powder, salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSierra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I accidentally bought the most popular brand of butterscotch chips and found them to contain gluten. HOWEVER, I just found a "store" brand of butterscotch chips that don't contain gluten. Just read the labels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
**FYI GLUTEN FREE BUTTERSCOTH CHIPS-In addition to Kroger and Hershey's as mentioned in a previous review, Publix brand is also gluten-free. They have a great printable list on their website of all their storebrand items that are gluten-free. ** These came out great. I sorta combined this recipe with the Magic layer bar from Eagle recipe. I made a crust from Scharr GF shortbread cookies, and reduced the coconut to 1 1/3 cups. I kept everything else the same as this recipe. A great gluten-free dessert everyone will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Easy and yummy. I made these for my Dad who is visiting this weekend and has celiac disease. Instead of butterscotch chips, I used Reese's peanut butter baking chips, which are gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe and every suggestion is good. I used 1/2 cup white chocolate chips sprinkled on top and less than a cup of butterscotch. Being only gluten intolerant, the butterscotch did not bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Used Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies for crust. Make as directed, allow to cool, then crumble in your well greased pan. Pat down lightly then proceed with layers. We left out the butterscotch morsels (couldn't find any without gluten....but we didn't miss them). Great recipe! My dad has a major sweet tooth but is now restricted to a gluten free diet. I was tired of him missing out at dessert time during every holiday meal so I went searching for gluten free recipes. I came across this one and am thrilled! He LOVED it!! These little treasures really do make a difference for those that have a restriced diet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States