Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is a good recipe. I gave this as a gift to someone on a gluten-free diet. It was so good that I made another batch for a small get together. So why 4 stars? Thanks for the warning on butterscotch gluten concerns from the other reviewers. Used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead. Thanks to MGK for the line-with-foil trick, and a thicker coconut bottom layer. The foil was a great help in removal and clean up--this goodie is VERY sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very sweet, but good. Everyone loved them. They taste like a yummy dessert, not like a dessert substitute as other gluten-free recipes I've tried do. I think they need to cook just a few more minutes to reduce the stickiness and create a stronger crust. Overall the best gluten-free dessert I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These were absolutely fabulous. I added a gluten free crust by using crushed GF Rice Chex cereal and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Another winner gluten-free recipe. I did miss the notes about some butterscotch chips not being gluten free though. We are using gluten-free as a guideline so good to know for the future. I did leave out the peanuts as we are trying to also avoid legumes. Still yummy without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Check your butterscotch morsel ingredients for barley protein (contains gluten and is used as a "natural flavor" in the only brand they sell at my store). Homemade butterscotch is not hard to make, especially with a bit of practice (wikihow has directions). My butterscotch is soft enough that a crust is a good idea if using it in layer bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made these for the first time last night. They are YUMMY and turned out really well based on some of my own adjustments and reading other reviews here. First, and I'm surprised only one other reviewer mentioned this, I had to make these in a 8X8 pan. I can't even imagine how anyone makes it 9X13 unless she doubles everything. There simply aren't enough ingredients. I measured one cup of crushed Trader Joe's gluten-free ginger snaps. Then I melted 5-6 T of unsalted butter and mixed it with the ginger snaps and 2/3 of the coconut. I pressed all of that onto the parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and then layered according to the recipe (using chopped peanuts). I think next time, I will take another's suggestion and use toffee chips. I don't care for the butterscotch all that much. I'd also love to try pecans in place of the peanuts. Many reviewers mentioned the overly sticky results, so I used 1/2 of a can of the sweetened condensed milk. It was PERFECT! They were amazing right out of the oven, if you didn't mind eating them with a spoon :) I let them sit overnight to cool completely, and this morning I was able to cut them into bars quickly and easily. They hold together and are not too sticky. I only wish the chips had melted more. The bars do crumble some when you bite into them which I think may be a direct result of the chips not really melting much and holding all of the other stuff together. May try microwaving them ever so slightly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Mine did not form bars, they would not hold together... just sort of sticky and crumbly but still tasty. next time I'll try a 8x8 pan instead of the 13x9 I think that they were too thin..??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great taste result, but I would change 3 things: finely chop the peanuts; line the pan with parchment paper or its almost impossible to remove; refridgerate for 24 hours before cutting into squares or it will be too soft to make formed squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
PERFECT!!! I have a few friends on a gluten free diet and tried this dessert for a get together and it was a hit for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I chilled it for two hours and used a pizza cutter to cut. I also couldn't find gluten-free butterscotch chips so I used heath toffee chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States