Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These were absolutely fabulous. I added a gluten free crust by using crushed GF Rice Chex cereal and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Another winner gluten-free recipe. I did miss the notes about some butterscotch chips not being gluten free though. We are using gluten-free as a guideline so good to know for the future. I did leave out the peanuts as we are trying to also avoid legumes. Still yummy without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Check your butterscotch morsel ingredients for barley protein (contains gluten and is used as a "natural flavor" in the only brand they sell at my store). Homemade butterscotch is not hard to make, especially with a bit of practice (wikihow has directions). My butterscotch is soft enough that a crust is a good idea if using it in layer bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made these for the first time last night. They are YUMMY and turned out really well based on some of my own adjustments and reading other reviews here. First, and I'm surprised only one other reviewer mentioned this, I had to make these in a 8X8 pan. I can't even imagine how anyone makes it 9X13 unless she doubles everything. There simply aren't enough ingredients. I measured one cup of crushed Trader Joe's gluten-free ginger snaps. Then I melted 5-6 T of unsalted butter and mixed it with the ginger snaps and 2/3 of the coconut. I pressed all of that onto the parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and then layered according to the recipe (using chopped peanuts). I think next time, I will take another's suggestion and use toffee chips. I don't care for the butterscotch all that much. I'd also love to try pecans in place of the peanuts. Many reviewers mentioned the overly sticky results, so I used 1/2 of a can of the sweetened condensed milk. It was PERFECT! They were amazing right out of the oven, if you didn't mind eating them with a spoon :) I let them sit overnight to cool completely, and this morning I was able to cut them into bars quickly and easily. They hold together and are not too sticky. I only wish the chips had melted more. The bars do crumble some when you bite into them which I think may be a direct result of the chips not really melting much and holding all of the other stuff together. May try microwaving them ever so slightly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Mine did not form bars, they would not hold together... just sort of sticky and crumbly but still tasty. next time I'll try a 8x8 pan instead of the 13x9 I think that they were too thin..??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great taste result, but I would change 3 things: finely chop the peanuts; line the pan with parchment paper or its almost impossible to remove; refridgerate for 24 hours before cutting into squares or it will be too soft to make formed squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
PERFECT!!! I have a few friends on a gluten free diet and tried this dessert for a get together and it was a hit for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I chilled it for two hours and used a pizza cutter to cut. I also couldn't find gluten-free butterscotch chips so I used heath toffee chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe but took the suggestion of adding a gluten-free ginger snap crust but without the butter. These were very sweet and sticky but that didn't stop them from being devoured! I think next time I was press the ingredients into the pan before baking to make them more firm... don't know it will help but I'll give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made these for a friend of mine with Celiac's and for being such a quick and easy dessert they turned out well. I'm not used to making something so simple, lol! Simple flavorful ingredients, good for when you don't have a lot of time (or space) to make a dessert, and even better for being gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granger, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States