Amazing Gluten-Free Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It needs some kind if crust, it was so sticky it's couldn't be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Our daughter was recently diagnosed with celiac disease so gluten free cooking is very new to us. I wanted to have a GF dessert for her at a recent dinner and since 7 layer bars are a family favorite I gave these a try. I used GF ginger snap cookies as others suggested and everyone approved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very tasty, but sooo messy. If I make these again, I'll definitely use a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
These bars were delicious. I baked them for closer to 28 min, and stuck them in the freezer for a few hours and fridge over night and they still were a little soft and fell apart. But everyone loved them anyway. Maybe if it was left to bake even longer it would melt together a little better? Also, Hershey's chips are all gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
AMAZING!!! Like rich candy bars. SUPER easy!!! I omitted the peanuts and butterscotch and used walnuts. This recipe is the best to curb a sugar crave. Thank you for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I am really happy to have found this recipe. How simple and over-the-top yummy! I have made it twice and just use what ever combination of nuts I have on hand (tonight I have a bakers dried fruit and nut mix of peanuts/pineapple/papaya/date pieces/walnuts and added raw unsalted sunflower seeds). The first time I used mini peanut butter cups in place of the butterscotch chips- or, tonight I replaced butterscotch chips with more chocolate chips. Also, to reduce the guilt factor I use fat free sweetened condensed milk and unsweetened coconut- still plenty rich and sweet! P.S. I don't usually measure, I just grease my pan with a thin coat of butter; layer an unsweetened finely grated coconut to cover well (shake pan a bit to even out); next layer of nuts or combo dried fruit and nuts- again shake; layer some chocolate chips; layer some sunflower seeds or another fine nut- shake a little; drizzle the sweetened condense milk; top with an ample layer of medium shred unsweetened coconut and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Marsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was a hit at a holiday office party and two family parties. Mix it up. One time I only had walnuts and those were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurQuist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Hard to get out of the pan, and I sprayed a lot of oil on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Such a treat! Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is a good recipe. I gave this as a gift to someone on a gluten-free diet. It was so good that I made another batch for a small get together. So why 4 stars? Thanks for the warning on butterscotch gluten concerns from the other reviewers. Used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead. Thanks to MGK for the line-with-foil trick, and a thicker coconut bottom layer. The foil was a great help in removal and clean up--this goodie is VERY sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States