Amazing Crab Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for - filling is like the flavor of favored crab rangoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have visited this recipe time and time again as it never gets old. I have even made it as a dip (leaving out the pasta shells) and served it with a variety of water table crackers and triscuits. Still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made these for an office holiday "pig-out". I overheard the big boss commenting about how good these "crab things" were. He was talking softly to his wife and he didn't know who made them so I figure that was honest and high praise indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These were delicious. I added a bit more lemon juice, a dash of cayenne, replaced mayonaise with sour cream as recommended in another review, and put the crab mixture in ready-made baked filo cups. Served them at a fundraiser and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Sooooo great! My picky 11 year old LOVED them! We are having them tonight for dinner with French bread and Arugula salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I used 2 cans of real crab instead of 1 lb imitation crab meat, 1/2 lb. medium cooked shrimp, and sour cream instead of mayonnaise. It turned out great and everyone at the party liked it, but I think it was a little bland. I will definitely make it again, but I would add more seasoning to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Tomorrow I am having a b-day party for hubby. Needed finger food. Found this recipe. Tweaked it a little. Sour cream instead of mayo as a guest won't eat anything with mayo in it. Three large green onions instead of the onion, personal preference. Going to use mini phyllo shells instead of pasta shells. Made the filling this morning and just now sampled it in the phyllo shell. It was like having a little bit of heaven in my mouth!!! I can hardly wait for my guest to try it tomorrow. It's going to be a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Like many others I used this as a dip instead of with the shells. But I substituted low-fat plain yogurt for the mayo (which btw works as a great substitute for the sour cream substitute many others were using), used chives instead of onions, and used real crab meat instead of imitation crab. And I served it with Toasted party crackers. After reading all of the simply *glowing* reviews I decided to make this for my company's recent semi-annual meeting/potluck. As one of the senior management got up to give his presentation, before about 150-200 people, he first asked who brought the crab dip. I raised my hand and he said, "You are my new favorite person. That dip is the lunch of champions." And then he told everyone else to try it too. Before this I had worried that that the recipe had made too much and I'd have a lot left over. SOO, not the case. The bowl was practically scrapped clean. And like another reviewer mentioned, I too am still basking in the glow of bringing a "winning" dish. I will definitely make this one again and recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Just not good. Follow recipe except I used onion powder instead of an onion and I left out the shrimp because I didn't have any. Just did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe is ALWAYS a hit when I make it. I have made a few changes that really kick it up. I leave the sugar out and instead add enough cajun seasoning to give it little added flavor without overpowering it. You can also use the filling as a dip with crackers or celery and you can use it to fill cherry tomatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States