Amazing Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice now and was convinced that I was doing something wrong. Now that I've seen other reviews, it appears I am not and this is just the way it turns out. Both times my pie was way too eggy. Shame, too, because it bakes up beautifully. I'm going to try it with the suggested substitutions and see if that helps. My co-worker, who I had taste test it, says I should try it with no eggs and see what happens. Definitely will be playing around with this some b/c, on paper, it sounds amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1534

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I've made this many times. My recipe calls for putting all the ingredients in the blender, pouring it in the pan and then sprinkling the coconut over the top which toasts the coconut. Comes out good every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sprkyjoey
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I followed what prior reviewers suggested - three eggs, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon of coconut extract, and adding the 1 cup of coconut at the end. It's easy and fantastic. Tastes great cold or warm. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
It is somewhat eggy, but my main objection to it is that no matter how little Bisquick you add, it still comes out heavy, like cake, rather than pie. It's much better eaten warm before it's refrigerated. After that it needs to be microwaved to soften it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this tonight, including the modifications recommended (1/4c more milk, 3 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla, 3/4c bisquick). It was very good! My son tells me we WILL be making this again, haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I used to make this pie back in the 70's. It came out great back then. I just put one in the oven about ten mins. ago. I am hoping it is as delicious as it was way back in my teenage years! I'll let you know...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Ballard Rush Callender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patten, Maine, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
really good , i added some coconut extract to kill the egg flavor and it works wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
this is very good but it wasn't like coconut pie i am used to, it's more cake like, i followed the recipe as directed, although i did add coconut flavoring,i will make this again, thanks for the recipe.....Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Yum! Easy, not too sweet, and very coconutty! I think if I made it again I'd make a caramel sauce to go with it. Not because it really needs it but just because. Thanks for sharing this, Kiana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Custardy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASANDREAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States