Amazing Calavacita and Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This is a great recipe. Both my picky husband and kids loved it. I used pork chops instead of pork roast and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This dish was good. A little to soupy, I just dumped out some of the liquid. I didn't have worchestire, so I used soy sauce and it was still good. Served in tortillas. Everyone ate it all. I had NO leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMLKOVE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I read the reviews while I made it and added a few tablespoons of tomato paste at the end to thicken the juices left behind. I also added about 2 tablespoons of garlic as well. I love the freshness it had. A great light meal that I’ll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I liked this pretty well. Hubby not so much. His Mama used to add jalapenos and crumbled up Queso Fresco Mexican cheese. I used chicken bouillon instead of the Worcestershire sauce. To those who think its bland, you might need to add more salt n pepper:)If its too Mushy, don't cook it as long! I just got another batch of zucchini so I might give this a go again. Thanks CThompson76.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Really good recipe. I followed it to the T, and it became a bit juicy, but that can just be poured off before serving. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I've been making this dish for years, but with a few adjustments. I use pork chops with the bone and cut into cubes. I cut around the bone and add to the dish for flavor, fry the zucchini a little with the chops, so it is not so mushy. I do not use worchestershire, I use garlic salt, 8 oz of tomato sauce and a tomato flavored bouillion cube. Try with these adjustments and I hope you will be much happier, this really is a great dish and a great way for the little ones to eat zucchini too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
We followed the directions ALMOST to a T - my husband made the observation that depending on the size/depth of pan you're using, the amount of water you use "to cover" the ingredients could be VASTLY different. We halved all of the ingredients, so per another reviewer's suggestion, I used 1/2 a cup of water - it was too much, and never cooked off or absorbed all the way. I thought I was generous with the seasoning, as we do with most things we cook, but I still found it a little bland. We might make this again, and next time use tomato sauce as another reviewer suggested in addition to the base ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Not bad. I thought it was kind of bland and watery, so I'm not sure I'll make it again, but it was all right for trying something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Recipe was ok. I did think it would be too bland and added some garlic powder, fajita seasoning and some potatoes. I found the zucchini did go a bit mushy so I think i may cook it a little less. I did cook the poatoes with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States