Amazing Calavacita and Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I read the reviews while I made it and added a few tablespoons of tomato paste at the end to thicken the juices left behind. I also added about 2 tablespoons of garlic as well. I love the freshness it had. A great light meal that I’ll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I liked this pretty well. Hubby not so much. His Mama used to add jalapenos and crumbled up Queso Fresco Mexican cheese. I used chicken bouillon instead of the Worcestershire sauce. To those who think its bland, you might need to add more salt n pepper:)If its too Mushy, don't cook it as long! I just got another batch of zucchini so I might give this a go again. Thanks CThompson76.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
pork- good, zucchini- good, corn- good tortillas-good, unfortunately it was extremely bland! Next time I will not put water in, I will use chicken broth, and a good dose of chipolata spice. This was defiantly worth reworking to make it yummier for us! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Popejoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
To keep the calabicitas from going mushie cook in layers. Meat on the bottom to simmer in the juices, and the vegetables on top and then mixed in with the meat the last 5 mins of cooking. Also use less water. I would also use a broth instead of water for better flavour. I am not a fan of whorchester so I rubbed the meat with chili powder. and simmered the meat with garlic, onion, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
We followed the directions ALMOST to a T - my husband made the observation that depending on the size/depth of pan you're using, the amount of water you use "to cover" the ingredients could be VASTLY different. We halved all of the ingredients, so per another reviewer's suggestion, I used 1/2 a cup of water - it was too much, and never cooked off or absorbed all the way. I thought I was generous with the seasoning, as we do with most things we cook, but I still found it a little bland. We might make this again, and next time use tomato sauce as another reviewer suggested in addition to the base ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I've been making this dish for years, but with a few adjustments. I use pork chops with the bone and cut into cubes. I cut around the bone and add to the dish for flavor, fry the zucchini a little with the chops, so it is not so mushy. I do not use worchestershire, I use garlic salt, 8 oz of tomato sauce and a tomato flavored bouillion cube. Try with these adjustments and I hope you will be much happier, this really is a great dish and a great way for the little ones to eat zucchini too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This dish was good. A little to soupy, I just dumped out some of the liquid. I didn't have worchestire, so I used soy sauce and it was still good. Served in tortillas. Everyone ate it all. I had NO leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMLKOVE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I personally would remove the olive oil and replace it with a tbsp of canola oil and the Worcestershire sauce replace it with 2 tbsp of beef bouillon. reduce water to 1 cup of water since this meal is supposed to be wet but not soupy and I would add garlic powder and a tomato finely chopped. That is how my mom makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was terrible. The zucchini was mushy, and it had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I'd give this recipe 3-stars if I ever thought I would make it again. The family thought it was boring. I thought the Zucchini was wayyyy over cooked and the dish was swimming in water! It tasted just okay. I felt like I was eating leftovers and could not get over that actually purchased groceries for this. Overall it was edible, just not repeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States