Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
So sorry for a low rating but we just didn't like this. Butternut is my favorite squash and this wasn't a recipe for us. I omitted onion and used less mayo as others stated and used 1 cup crackers and 6 T parmesan. I do have an easier way to peel butternut squash for all you lovers out there. Wash and pat dry your squash. Take a fork and pierce the skin many times all around. Place in microwave and nuke for 8 to 10 minutes. Depending on size. Remove using a pot holder because it will be extremely hot. Let cool a few minutes before peeling, it's easier to slice too, it works great! Then procede with whatever recipe your making. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
The recipe is a good start but needs some modifications. I did the following: 1. Don't add the onions. They don't fit in this recipe. 2. Replace the mayonnaise with vanilla yogurt and make it slightly less than 1/2 cup. You could also add a teaspoon of vanilla extract. 3. Replace the saltine crackers with Graham crackers The result is a sweet, vanilla flavored dish that lets the natural butternut squash flavor come through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
My family absolutely detests squash, but I love it, AND it's good for you.. so here I went, and tried yet another squash recipe.. *you should have seen the look in my husbands eyes*... and to top it off I didn't realize that the friends we had over for dinner also disliked squash.. well.. they all tried it just to please me... and they LOVED IT! I didn't use the FULL amount of mayo, just cause someone said they thought it was too much.. but OH MY! yummy! Nice for haters and lovers of squash.. definately a winner! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Wow, this is great! i used vanilla yogurt instead of mayo as another reviewer suggested, and bread crumbs instead of the crackers. I also did double the topping and saute the onions in a bit of butter before, but everything else just as is. My roommate can't stop eating it! I seriously think she ate half of the dish! A great way to use up butternut. oh, and i did bake the squash in halves in 350 degree oven for 1 hour before, scooped it out, and beat everything together with a hand-held mixer to combine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year in order to use up a couple of butternut squash I had laying around. I used non-fat plain yogurt instead of the mayo and made lots and lots of topping! It was a hit! Everyone loved it and scraped the bowl clean! It even traveled the 60+ miles and reheated well. Definately a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
I also halved the mayonnaise and doubled the cracker & cheese mix. The reviews are right - peeling the squash after boiling is a LOT easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe is excellent. Very tasty and easy to make. I made it exactly as suggested, and wouldn't change anything the next time I make it. The ingredients aren't typical, but really add to the squash, and make a great complimentary side dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
We all really enjoyed this recipe. I used vanilla yogurt in place of the mayo, and cooked the 1/2 cup of onions a little before adding. And of course I added more crunchy topping as everyone suggested. We'll definitely try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
FANTASTIC!! I have served this twice to guests and several times to family and everybody loves it! I have added more crackers and parmesan to the topping but other than that the recipe is perfect! I have passed this recipe on to all my friends. Tony, 24, Scotland, UK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This was delicious! My first experience with butternut squash. It was a chore to make...you need a sharp knife to cut the squash into pieces, then it's a pain to peel (I peeled it after I cooked it, which made it easier). Worth the effort, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States