Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is AMAZING! I also used 1/2 the mayo called for. Boiled the sqaush whole and peeling it was a breeze! Did not have saltine crackers and used Ritz low sodium instead. I didn't even use salt or pepper! It was perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Tried this tonight for dinner and it was great! Definitely a recipe to use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I had plenty of sweet-type recipes for butternut squash and was looking for something savory. I need simple, and I need gluten-free so thank you for this recipe as it made a great jumping-off point. Here's what I did after looking over the recipe: I sauteed celery and carrots and a tiny bit of onion on low heat w/ some butter. Once those softened a bit, then I added cubes of butternut squash (from Costco) and continued to cook until the squash was soft and caramelized. Since I can't have saltines, I just liberally added the Parm cheese. No mayo, no brown sugar, and no egg. My two teens ate it without any encouragement - amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I loved it. Next time I would add a couple tablespoons of butter to the mixture. Mine was needing a bit more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkstein123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was outstanding. I'm not sure I really have ever had butternut squash before, so it was mostly an experiment and a very delicious one at that! I was surpised how much flavor this dish has. My husband and I ate it ALL. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
perfect the way it's stated.. it can fit in a 9" pie dish. I did use more parmesean.. I would use more butter too for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesschellack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
At the time I made this, I didn't have a real onion, so I substituted dried chopped onion. I made sure to measure in the equivalent to 1/2 cup onion. However, all I could taste is the onion. I'd definitely use much less onion - it overpowered everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
it was pretty good. I think it could use some herbs/spices for a lil more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is absolutly my favorite side dish of all time! I did add a little more brown sugar because I have a major sweet tooth. The mayo was fine but i will try it next time with yogurt just so it will be a little healthier. And i want to try to eliminate the onions because my dad will not try it with onions and i want him too ... will this ruin the recipe or can i subsitutite with something else?? Let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I still prefer the old method of cooking and smashing with brown sugar and butter. This seemed to not have a lot of flavor. The texture was good. Loved the topping. But I'll stick to the simple old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States