Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Good, but makes A LOT....plenty of leftovers for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made this last night for supper and it was delicious. I didn't change a thing and my husband said I could go agead and make this again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was truly amazing. I've made this before but this time I added a tablespoon of brown sugar and a little pure maple sryup. It came out great it you like it really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
The mayo is a bit overpowering. Next time, I'll try the yogurt substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I am a fan of Butternut Squash, this was a simple recipe. My husband that isn't a fan of squash on principle liked this recipe well my version of it. i added a little garlic to the squash and onion mixture. I didn't boil the squash, I steamed it in the microwave for about 8 minutes with the onion and garlic. I used a little more brown sugar. I didn't have any saltines but I did have some pretzel/crackers and used them instead, it turned out very tastee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I should have followed my gut when I saw mayo as an ingredient, it just didn't sound appetizing. My family did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I don't really like squash but this was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Smethport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I found this to be really good! Very quick, simple & easy! I substituted plain Greek yogurt for the mayo and also honey for the brown sugar. Little bit oniony if you have a picky eater who doesn't much care for onions, but good side dish. I do not have a lot of experience w/ butternut squash, but really very quick & simple with the Trader Joe's pureed but. squash. Simple ingredients also make this a great choice. Give this a try! I also cooked into a muffin cake pan as I live in a studio & lack many baking dishes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisieyo1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miles City, Montana, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very good, but savory-not sweet. Used 1/4 c mayo and onions, and doubled the topping. Used ritz instead of saltines. Makes about 6 servings. Add more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I hate squash. It's mealy and insipid and yukky. But THIS is wonderful! I will gladly eat squash from now on if it's cooked like this. The onion was a nice flavor. I accidentally left out the brown sugar and my husband still thought it was too sweet (squash is naturally sweet). No way to change that! I get the impression from comments that people want this to be sweeter and don't like the onion....well....that would be trying to make this taste like candied sweet potatoes. And it's not that kind of dish at all. Try it as written, or even leave out the sugar. Oh, one more thing...I didn't have saltines. I just crushed up some bran cereal flakes instead. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States