Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is AMAZING! I also used 1/2 the mayo called for. Boiled the sqaush whole and peeling it was a breeze! Did not have saltine crackers and used Ritz low sodium instead. I didn't even use salt or pepper! It was perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Tried this tonight for dinner and it was great! Definitely a recipe to use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I had plenty of sweet-type recipes for butternut squash and was looking for something savory. I need simple, and I need gluten-free so thank you for this recipe as it made a great jumping-off point. Here's what I did after looking over the recipe: I sauteed celery and carrots and a tiny bit of onion on low heat w/ some butter. Once those softened a bit, then I added cubes of butternut squash (from Costco) and continued to cook until the squash was soft and caramelized. Since I can't have saltines, I just liberally added the Parm cheese. No mayo, no brown sugar, and no egg. My two teens ate it without any encouragement - amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I loved it. Next time I would add a couple tablespoons of butter to the mixture. Mine was needing a bit more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkstein123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was outstanding. I'm not sure I really have ever had butternut squash before, so it was mostly an experiment and a very delicious one at that! I was surpised how much flavor this dish has. My husband and I ate it ALL. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
perfect the way it's stated.. it can fit in a 9" pie dish. I did use more parmesean.. I would use more butter too for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesschellack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
At the time I made this, I didn't have a real onion, so I substituted dried chopped onion. I made sure to measure in the equivalent to 1/2 cup onion. However, all I could taste is the onion. I'd definitely use much less onion - it overpowered everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
it was pretty good. I think it could use some herbs/spices for a lil more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is absolutly my favorite side dish of all time! I did add a little more brown sugar because I have a major sweet tooth. The mayo was fine but i will try it next time with yogurt just so it will be a little healthier. And i want to try to eliminate the onions because my dad will not try it with onions and i want him too ... will this ruin the recipe or can i subsitutite with something else?? Let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I still prefer the old method of cooking and smashing with brown sugar and butter. This seemed to not have a lot of flavor. The texture was good. Loved the topping. But I'll stick to the simple old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States