Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Followed other reviewers advice and subbed yogurt for the mayo. Also, boiled/steamed squash (after halving lengthwise) in microwave. Easier to scoop the squash out this way. My family enjoyed this. Be warned, it is slightly sweet but the savory topping goes well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I'm a man a rarely eat squash, but i must say that this recipe was good (not great) but for someone who almost never eats squash i have to recommend it. 3.5/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was easy to make and tasted great. It was a hit at Christmas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this for company, and they all RAVED about it. Asking for the recipe and all that good stuff. Definitely a yummy twist on regular squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I decided to try this recipe vs the brown sugar/graham cracker version listed in the reviews. For half of the squash I followed the original recipe, except for sauteing the onions and doubling the topping as so many suggested. It was wonderful! The onions melted away and the ingredients did combine well--meant to take a picture, but ate the thing too fast. For the other half of the squash, I followed the directions for the brown sugar and graham cracker version (listed in the recs). Compared to the original recipe, it wasn't appetizing at all. Tasted too sweet and vanilla-y for the squash. Unusual for me since I'm known for my sweet tooth. Definitely sticking to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a great recipe! I followed it exactly, although the small amount of brown sugar seemed like it couldn't have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
A little new to cooking, I grabbed a spaghetti squash by mistake. Wonderful mistake! This is requested every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used Ritz. This was amazing and was a great side dish to Thanksgiving. I liked this much better than a yam dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My boyfriend and my son loved this recipe, but next time I will only use 1/4 of the requested mayo. They loved the crunchiness on top so I will also add more crackers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My husband loved it. I made it the other day, and since squash is so cheap right now, my husband asked me to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States