Amazing Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was delicious! Just made a couple changes for my diabetic husband. I sweetened with stevia to taste instead of brown sugar. Also used wholewheat bread crumbs for topping instead of saltine crackers and doubled amount. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very accurate title. This recipe is Amazing. My wife hated butternut squash until I made this recipe. No changes necessary. This recipe is delicious just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serving1Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I'm going to simplify this, according to what I have done with it, almost by accident. I microwaved the 1 to 1 1/2 lb squash for about 10 -12 minutes, until soft enough to scoop away from the peel. I added 1/4 cup of butter-type margerine, 1 tsp of salt, 1 generous tsp of black pepper, 1 generous tsp of garlic powder, and a generous tblsp of dark brown sugar. I mashed and mixed this all thoroughly, and served it alongside some really good roast chicken, on the plate. The flavor and taste of the squash was delightful! I have eaten lots of butternut, but never any that was more delicious than this. Maybe I lucked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I am dieting, and this is a perfect side dish - instead of mashed taters or mac and cheese. I did as some others suggested and added more onions and grilled them. I also had some leftover sweet potato and added that into the mix. A very good recipe that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Had never cooked with butternut squash before and this was a great casserole! A really nice fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
it was pretty good. i would spread into a bigger dish and add more cunchies on top , i like the cheesy cracker taste but the squash is good to. onions work well in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is awesome just the way it is. This is a nice change to the sweet recipes I am use to. I will definitely be making this again maybe try some of the modification other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is great!! I don't know what the other people meant to leave the onion out..... Onion goes with everything! Everyone went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Food Fan
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Loved, loved, loved!! I followed the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I have to disagree with some previous reviewers -- do, Do, DO use the onion. I personally really like onion with squash, especially red onions, which I use in several of my favorite recipes. Although I'm sure the sweeter take on it is good too, shun not the onion! Also, I might steal the idea of using yogurt -- for me plain -- instead of mayo for decreased sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States